Biology Lab: Books

See anatomy from a clinical perspective with hundreds of exquisite, hand-painted illustrations created by, and in the tradition of, pre-eminent medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. Join the global community of healthcare professionals who've mastered anatomy the Netter way!

More than 1,000 Netter images, along with photos of physical examination techniques and imaging examples, provide a rich visual understanding, while a bulleted text format, combined with a user-friendly organization by specific types of injuries, makes reference quick and easy.

The Sobotta Atlas covers the complete macroscopic anatomy in full detail and exceptional quality with almost 2000 figures. This unparalleled Atlas of Anatomy is organised by body region, mirroring the way you're taught during your dissection labs. Simple new introductions and general overviews help you to understand the more complex figures and connections - step by step.

A glorious, unparalleled view of the human body . . . Revolutionary computer images from the creator of From Conception to Birth reveal the wonders and complexities of every system in the male and female bodies. The human body is a marvel of engineering. From the muscular and skeletal systems of the hand working in concert to allow us to type, eat, and caress, to the circadian rhythms of the heart and digestive system keeping things moving despite our consciousness being elsewhere, our bodies are far more complex and awe inspiring than any man-made creation. In more than 500 astonishing images, he dismantles each system, highlights the anatomical difference between men and women, and rebuilds the body from the molecular level on up.

The Oxford Companion to the Body is a fascinating and authoritative guide to every aspect of the body. It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers.

Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology is a vivid, uniquely effective visual presentation of the pharmacodynamic relationship between drugs and the human body. It offers a unique visual approach to learning the basic principles of pharmacology - providing the most authoritative and broadest possible coverage of both the basic science and the clinical applications of pharmacology in a manner that is both scientifically rigorous and enjoyable. Succinct, easy-to-understand presentations of introductory pharmacologic principles based on classic images by Frank Netter as well as dynamic new illustrations from other talented medical artists. Divided by specific organ systems, each chapter shows how drugs are used for specific disorders of that system. Full color illustrations showing the organ systems coupled with illustrations showing how a drug works at a particular physiologic site Illustrative conceptualization of pharmacology principles in summary format.

This book is the most authoritative encyclopedia ever prepared on dinosaurs and dinosaur science. In addition to entries on specific animals such as Tyrannosaurus and Velociraptor, the Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs covers reproduction, behavior, physiology, and extinction. The book is generously illustrated with many detailed drawings and photographs, and includes color pictures and illustrations that feature interpretations of the best known and most important animals. All alphabetical entries are cross-referenced internally, as well as at the end of each entry. The Encyclopedia includes up-to-date references that encourage the reader to investigate personal interests.

Organized alphabetically, this reference for high school and college students offers concise explanations of evolutionary concepts. More than 200 cross-referenced entries discuss such topics as Earth's age, Charles Darwin, eukaryotes, intelligent design theory, mitochondrial DNA, the Pleistocene extinction, and vestigial characteristics. Many of the entries are accompanied by b&w illustrations, and all conclude with suggestions for further reading. The volume also features five essays that explore ethical issues related to evolutionary science. Rice teaches biology at Southeastern Oklahoma State U., Durant.

The Encyclopedia of Paleontology is designed to address the shortage of general reference works on both vertebrate and invertebrate paleontology and to serve the needs of students and lay persons interested in the field. As the encyclopedia aims to provide basic information, the majority of the 350 entries are devoted to explanations of paleontological concepts and techniques, examinations of the evolutionary development of particular organisms and biological features, profiles of major discoveries, and biographies of leading scientists. Each entry includes an essay and a further reading list. An international team of 200 leading experts in the field has prepared the illustrations and the essays, which range from concise descriptions to comprehensive discussions.

Evolution recreates the 3.5-billion-year story of life on Earth in stunning detail through vivid full-color illustrations and graphics, the latest scientific information, and hundreds of photographs. At the heart of the book is an astonishing, beautifully detailed panorama by renowned illustrator Peter Barrett that, in 100 double-page site reconstructions, offers a freeze-frame view of the communities--from microbes to humankind--that have lived on our planet's continents and in its oceans. These groundbreaking artworks, based on the most recent findings at some of the most famous fossil sites around the world, are paired with an authoritative and highly informative text written for a wide audience of readers. A landmark project, published to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Charles Darwin's birth and the 150th anniversary of his book On the Origin of Species.

An authoritative and practical identification guide to minerals, rocks and fossils of the world. Published in association with The Natural History Museum, this is an invaluable handbook for amateur collectors and specialists alike.

The new field of evolutionary developmental biology is one of the most exciting areas of contemporary biology. The fundamental principle of evolutionary developmental biology ("evo-devo") is that evolution acts through inherited changes in the development of the organism. "Evo-devo" is not merely a fusion of the fields of developmental and evolutionary biology, the grafting of a developmental perspective onto evolutionary biology, or the incorporation of an evolutionary perspective into developmental biology. Evo-devo strives for a unification of genomic, developmental, organismal, population, and natural selection approaches to evolutionary change. It draws from development, evolution, paleontology, ecology, and molecular and systematic biology, but has its own set of questions, approaches, and methods." "Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology is the first comprehensive reference work for this expanding field. Covering more than fifty central terms and concepts, from Animal Phyla to Variation, in entries written by leading experts, Keywords offers an overview of all that is embraced by this new subdiscipline of biology, providing the core insights and ideas that show how embryonic development relates to life-history evolution, adaptation, and responses to and integration with environmental factors.

In this landmark work, the author team led by Dr. Sean Carroll presents the general principles of the genetic basis of morphological change through a synthesis of evolutionary biology with genetics and embryology. In this extensively revised second edition, the authors delve into the latest discoveries, incorporating new coverage of comparative genomics, molecular evolution of regulatory proteins and elements, and microevolution of animal development. An accessible text, focusing on the most well-known genes, developmental processes and taxa. Builds logically from developmental genetics and regulatory mechanisms to evolution at different genetic morphological levels. Adds major insights from recent genome studies, new evo-devo biology research findings, and a new chapter on models of variation and divergence among closely related species.

A quick, concise reference to pathogenic microorganisms and the diseases they cause, this book is divided into specific groups of pathogenic microorganisms including bacteria, protozoa, fungi, viruses, and prions. It lists important pathogenic taxa in each group, covering their natural habitats, the diseases they cause, microbiological highlights, laboratory diagnosis, and measures of prevention and control, including availability of vaccines and effective therapeutic agents.

An accessible introduction to the world of microbes-from basic microbe biology through industrial applications Microbes affect our lives in a variety of ways-playing an important role in our health, food, agriculture, and environment. While some microbes are beneficial, others are pathogenic or opportunistic. Microbes: Concepts and Applications describes basic microbe biology and identification and shows not only how they operate in the subfields of medicine, biotechnology, environmental science, bioengineering, agriculture, and food science, but how they can be harnessed.

For almost four billion years, microbes had the primordial oceans all to themselves. The stewards of Earth, these organisms transformed the chemistry of our planet to make it habitable for plants, animals, and us. Life's Engines takes readers deep into the microscopic world to explore how these marvelous creatures made life on Earth possible; and how human life today would cease to exist without them. Paul Falkowski looks under the of microbes to find the engines of life, the actual working parts that do the biochemical heavy lifting for every living organism on Earth. Falkowski shows how evolution works to maintain this core machinery of life, and how we and other animals are veritable conglomerations of microbes. A vibrantly entertaining book about the microbes that support our very existence.

Bacterial Physiology and Metabolism focuses on research on bacteria, as well as metabolism of carbohydrates, fermentation, and oxidation of acids. The book first offers information on nutrition and growth of bacterial cultures, including requirements for growth, nutritional classification of bacteria, measurement of bacterial growth, and synchronous growth of bacterial cultures. The manuscript then considers the chemical composition of bacteria, oligosaccharide catabolism, and transport of sugars. The publication takes a look at the fermentation of sugars and aerobic metabolism of carbohydrates,

The first review series in virology and published since 1953, Advances in Virus Research covers a diverse range of in-depth reviews, providing a valuable overview of the field. The series of eclectic volumes are valuable resources to virologists, microbiologists, immunologists, molecular biologists, pathologists, and plant researchers. Volume 89 features articles on topics including plant-based vaccines, transmission of arthropod-borne viruses by mosquitoes, arboviruses in domestic and wild animals, and more. Contributions from leading authorities Comprehensive reviews for general and specialist use First and longest-running review series in virology

This dictionary is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on all aspects of the study of animals for students and amateur naturalists. There is wide coverage of all relevant topics including animal behaviour, genetics, evolutionary studies, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, Earth history, and zoogeography.

"The Encyclopedia of Insects is a comprehensive work devoted to all aspects of insects, including their anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management. Articles provide definitive facts about all insects from aphids, beetles and butterflies to boll weevils and wasps. Insects are beautiful and dreadful, ravenous pests and devastating disease vectors, resilient and resistant to eradication, and the source of great benefit and great loss for civilization. Important for ecosystem health, they have influenced the evolution of other life forms on our planet including humans. Anyone interested in insects, from university professors and researchers to high school students preparing a report, will find The Encyclopedia of Insects an indispensable volume for insect information."

"Written by an international team of experts and edited by renowned zoologist Professor David Macdonald, this new edition of The Encyclopedia of Mammals has been comprehensively revised and updated to reflect the most recent developments in modern zoology. It covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world in clear, accessible language, and is superbly illustrated throughout with photographs and original artwork. There are also feature articles on a range of fascinating topics, such as: Why do primates have big brains? Why do lions roar? And what are the costs of motherhood for seals?"

A breathtaking insight into underwater life, this Encyclopedia offers unrivalled coverage of the fish and aquatic invertebrates that inhabit our rivers, lakes, and oceans. It describes in detail the anatomy, behaviour, habitat, breeding, and conservation status of species: from microscopic, single-celled organisms swept along by water currents to gigantic powerhouses of the deep. Fascinating feature articles examine some of the strangest and most interesting aspects of these species in more depth, such as the origins of coral reefs; the cycle of the salmon; and how fish produce and use artificial illumination.

"An easy-to-use identification guide to a wide range of shells from all over the world, from the common to the rare and coveted. The introductory section gives general information on molluscs and their classification, and about collecting shells. In the identification section, over 1200 species are described and more than 1000 are illustrated. The description of each species accompanies its illustration."

The Handbook of Vegetable Pests is intended to assist anyone in need of an easy-to-use, comprehensive survey of all pests likely to be encountered in North America. This Handbook provides thorough identification guides, descriptions of pest life history, and pest management recommendations. The text is well illustrated with hundreds of easy-to-use line drawings, is cross-referenced to the professional and scientific literature, and includes color plates for ease of insect pest identification.

"The New Encyclopedia of Birds is the definitive single-volume guide to birds of the world. Entries prepared by a team of renowned biologists and conservationists give a systematic account of every family, covering their form and function, distribution, diet, social behaviour, and breeding biology. With one-eighth of all bird species now under threat, special attention is given to environmental and conservation issues."

Increasingly, genomics is having an impact on mainstream healthcare. All health professionals will now be required to understand basic genetic concepts, but the depth of knowledge required will vary according to the role of the practitioner, and the setting in which he or she works.Following the success of Genetics for Healthcare Professionals by Skirton and Patch, which was written for practitioners at foundation level, Applied Genetics in Healthcare approaches the issues of genetic healthcare at a more advanced level and is primarily intended as a handbook for those training or working as genetic specialists. However, the book will also be a useful resource for practitioners who specialize in particular fields of healthcare that require knowledge of genetics in specific topics. Those experienced in genetic healthcare will find the book to be a valuable handbook and a source of references for wider reading.All of the authors have worked extensively in the field of genetic healthcare and have used their experience in both genetics nursing and genetics counseling to create a working handbook that is rooted in clinical practice.

From Gregor Mendel's first experiments with peas during the eighteenth century to the announcement of the Human Genome Project in 1998, genetics have become the key to cracking many of the scientific ideas of our age. How much do our genes determine our personalities? What makes us different from other species? What is revealed behind the controversy of genetically modified food or stem cell research? This volume is the ideal companion for students or general popular science readers who wish to know the facts behind the latest research and discoveries.

A thoroughly updated version of the successful first edition with a new chapter on Real-Time PCR, more prokaryotic applications, and more detail in the complex mutagenesis sections. Information on PCR applications in genomics and proteomics have been expanded and integrated throughout the text. There is also advice on available products and specific pointers to the most appropriate methods. As with the first edition, this will be an ideal practical introduction and invaluable guide to PCR and its applications.

The fourth edition of this classical reference book can once again be relied upon to present a cohesive and up-to-date exposition of all aspects of human and medical genetics. Human genetics has become one of the main basic sciences in medicine, and molecular genetics is increasingly becoming a major part of this field. This new edition integrates a wealth of new information - mainly describing the influence of the "molecular revolution" - including the principles of epigenetic processes which together create the phenotype of a human being. Other revisions are an improved layout, sub-division into a larger number of chapters, as well as two-colour print throughout for ease of reference, and many of the figures are now in full colour.For graduates and those already working in medical genetics.

The perfect guide for those studying biology, either at school or university. Including biographies of key scientists, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. There are also feature articles on important topics, such as genetically modified organisms.

The subject of climate change has become an important issue over the past few years. Encyclopedia of Global Warming is designed to help the student or patron understand the environmental science, social issues and controversies surrounding this important issue. Essays explore a wide variety of topics, including fossil fuels, glaciology, conservation, human rights, pollution, society, science and water resources.

Developmental biology is the study of the mechanisms of development, differentiation, and growth in animals and plants at the molecular, cellular, and genetic levels. The discipline has gained prominence in part due to new interdisciplinary approaches and advances in technology, which have led to the rapid emergence of new concepts and words. The Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology is the first comprehensive reference focused on the terms, research, history, and people of this field. This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology. Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures. Comparative aspects are described in order to provide a sense of the evolution of structures. All features of embryology and developmental biology are covered, including: Vertebrates, Invertebrates, Developmental genetics and Medical embryology.

This dictionary covers every aspect of animal behaviour and includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. Clear, concise entries are backed up by specific examples where appropriate, covering all aspects of behaviour from aggression to courtship.

From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Spanning over 2,500 years, it covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. Offering clear explanations of the science itself as well as its historical significance, the dictionary includes coverage of all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine.

An easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.This comprehensive volume covers the entire field of plant pathology. It does not merely define the numerous subjects covered but describes them in detail. Each section of this book serves as a comprehensive overview of a given area, providing breadth of coverage for students and depth of coverage for research professionals.

This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of botany available. Drawing on the information contained in the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of Natural History, the text has been fully revised to give wide coverage on topics including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups: one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants.

The Handbook of Vegetable Pests is intended to assist anyone in need of an easy-to-use, comprehensive survey of all pests likely to be encountered in North America. This Handbook provides thorough identification guides, descriptions of pest life history, and pest management recommendations. The text is well illustrated with hundreds of easy-to-use line drawings, is cross-referenced to the professional and scientific literature, and includes color plates for ease of insect pest identification.

Encyclopedia of Science - Plant Life is appropriate for biology, botany and ecology students and faculty at the high school and undergraduate levels and for general readers interested in scientific information about plants and plant science.

The emphasis of the text is on the 'whole plant' aspects of physiology. The rapid pace at which biological knowledge has grown in the last few decades have now necessitated a very thorough writing of large sections of the book.

The fourth edition of the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of ecology available. Written in a clear, accessible style, it contains over 6,000 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography.   Coverage is wide-ranging and includes plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.The dictionary will be invaluable to students of ecology, biology, conservation studies, environmental sciences, and professionals in related areas, as well as the general reader with an interest in the natural world.

A wide ranging, inter-disciplinary resource covering a broad spectrum of environmental concerns, embracing science, politics, economics, philosophy, and history, and containing entries on current hot topics such as Antartica, Gaia hypothosis, genetic engineering, Kyoto Protocol, and the United Nations Conference on Environmental Development.

Scholars, scientists, and policymakers have hailed ecosystem-based management (EBM) as a remedy for the perceived shortcomings of the centralized, top-down, expert-driven environmental regulatory framework established in the United States in the late 1960s and early 1970s. EBM entails collaborative, landscape-scale planning and flexible, adaptive implementation. But although scholars have analyzed aspects of EBM for more than a decade, until now there has been no systematic empirical study of the overall approach. In "Natural Experiments," Judith Layzer provides a detailed assessment of whether EBM delivers in practice the environmental benefits it promises in theory. She does this by examining four nationally known EBM initiatives (the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Program in Austin, Texas, the San Diego Multiple Species Program, the Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan, and the California Bay-Delta Program) and three comparison cases that used more conventional regulatory approaches (Arizona's Sonoran Desert Conservation Plan and efforts to restore Florida's Kissimmee River and California's Mono Basin). Layzer concludes that projects that set goals based on stakeholder collaboration, rather than through conventional politics, are less likely to result in environmental improvement, largely because the pursuit of consensus drives planners to avoid controversy and minimize short-term costs. Layzer's resolutely practical focus cuts through the ideological and theoretical arguments for and against EBM to identify strategies that hold genuine promise for restoring the ecological resilience of our landscapes.

"The Oxford Companion to the Earth is a unique reference work, offering unrivalled coverage of the Earth Sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy, and oceanography, are covered. In addition, there are many eclectic entries, for example on dinosaur hunters, and fossils and folklore, as well as biographies of the key figures involved."

Power and social inequality shape patterns of land use and resource management. This book explores this relationship from different perspectives, illuminating the complexity of interactions between human societies and nature. Most of the contributors use the perspective of "political ecology" as a point of departure, recognizing that human relations to the environment and human social relations are not separate phenomena but inextricably intertwined. What makes this volume unique is that it sets this approach in a trans-disciplinary, global, and historical framework.

Significant improvements in lifestyle and medical science are leading to an ever increasing elderly population in the United States and other developed nations. The U.S. census bureau estimates the number of people over 65 will nearly double by 2030, and that the elderly population will comprise nearly one-fifth of the world's entire population within the next twenty years. In Animal Models of Human Cognitive Aging, Jennifer Bizon, Alisa Woods, and a panel of international authorities comprehensively discuss the use of animal models as a tool for understanding cognitive changes associated with the aging process. The book provides substantive background on the newest and most widely used animal models in studies of cognition and aging, while detailing the normal and pathological processes of brain aging of humans in relation to those models. Additional chapters comprehensively review frontal cortical deficits and executive function in primates as related to humans, and the use of transgenic modulation in mice to model Alzheimer's and other age-related diseases. Groundbreaking and authoritative, Animal Models of Human Cognitive Aging provides a valuable resource for Neuroscientists, Gerontological Scientists, and all aging medicine researchers, while serving as a primer for understanding current brain aging studies.

Neuroscience is by definition a multidisciplinary field: some scientists study genes and proteins at the molecular level while others study neural circuitry. A single topic such as the auditory system can be studied using techniques from genetics, imaging, biochemistry, or electrophysiology. A young scientist must learn how to read the primary literature and then develop their own experiments. This book offers that scientist an overview of mainstream research techniques, provides guidelines on how to choose one technique over another, offers tips on analyzing data, and provides a list of references for additional detailed study. This book can also assist an experienced scientist understand published studies conducted outside their own subfield.

Translational research looks to take the latest innovations made in the laboratory setting to translate findings into effective and sustainable medical interventions and improved preventative measures. Funding support is increasingly tied to practical healthcare outcomes, with this trend likely only to increase in coming years.