Cowles Library

Art and Design

Resources for the fields of Art History, Graphic Design and Studio Art.

Overview

The Department of Art and Design offers the following programs:

Major in Art History (see current catalog requirements)
‌Minor in Art History (see current catalog requirements)

Below are resources related to Art History.

Art History

Digital Images Online: Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Here you may find digital images from a number of collections held in the Beinecke Library at Yale University.Included are photographs, manuscripts, artwork, objects, and "scanned pagers from printed books." Materials have been selected from such collections as Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, the Cary Playing Card Database, Papyrus collections and Western Americana. Somewhat difficult to navigate, but a source of much of interest. [Choice, Aug. 2011]
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Institute in California, in cooperation with several major European and American art institutes and museums, has produced this database of nearly 20,000 digital texts from the field of art history. Users have two search options: a simple keyword search, or an advanced search option that allows searching by author, title, and subject as well.
International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR)
The purpose of this web site is mainly to assist experts to determine the authenticity of works of art on an impartial, authoritative basis. However, it also provides "catalogues raisonnes" for numerous artists' work so interested researchers might survey large numbers of works by specific individuals. There are also guides to art terminology and determining provenance.

Last Updated: Aug 24, 2024 7:23 AM
URL: https://library.drake.edu/art-design
Print Page

Subjects: Art & Design

Tags: art, art history, design, drawing, labor art, painting, printing, printmaking, sculpture, typography

Find

SuperSearch

Research Databases

Research Guides

Books & eBooks

Journals

Media

Newspapers & Magazines

Borrow & Request

Borrow & Materials for Checkout

Information about borrowing, renewing, and materials available for checkout

Course Reserves

Use materials placed on reserve by your instructors

FastTRAC

Borrow books directly from other Iowa academic library partners

Interlibrary Loan

Borrow material from libraries around the world

Request a Purchase

Ask the library to purchase books or other research materials

Collections

Archives & Special Collections

Drake history and Iowa political papers

Digital Collections

Online access to unique items from the University Archives

Featured Collections

Books, eBooks, and videos we highlight throughout the year

Other Campus Collections

Research Support

Research Guides

Handpicked by experts for your area of study

Research Consultation

Schedule a one-on-one session with a librarian

-

Subject Experts

Librarians who specialize in your area of study

Citing Sources

Find, organize, and use your citations

Tutoring

Writing Center, Speaking Center, and other Tutoring

Study Skills

Tools & resources to help develop your study skills

Teaching Support

Information Literacy Expertise

What we teach and how we can help in your courses

Library Liaisons

Connect with a librarian

Course Reserves

Put material on reserve for your courses

-

Course Material Support

Help with course material adoptions and textbook alternatives

OER

Explore, adopt, adapt, and create open educational resources

Publishing Support

Resources to help you publish your research

Collections

Finding Aids

University Archives

Drake Digital Collections

eScholarShare

Special Collections

Political Papers Collections

Web Archives

Exhibits

Harmful Content Statement

Research & Teaching

Archives Research Support

Archives Teaching Support

Records Management

About the Program

Collection Policy

Donate & Transfer Materials

Education & Training

FAQ

About the Archives

Mission

What we do and why

Visit

Hours, directions, and guidelines for your Archives visit

Policies

Policies governing use of Archives resources and services

Contact & Support

Reach, follow, and support the Archives

Students

Research Support

Guides, tutorials, and library expertise to help you succeed as a scholar

Using the Library

Borrowing materials, finding a study space, locating services

Drake Online

Library services and support directed toward Drake Online and other off-campus students

Feedback & Problems

Provide feedback or resolve a problem with the library

Faculty & Staff

Instruction

Resources and information literacy expertise to support your teaching

Requesting Materials

Ask a Question

Text to 515-650-4582

Email cowleslibrary@drake.edu

Call 515-271-2111

Chat Now

Submit a Question

Schedule a research consultation

FAQs

Connect

Meet Our People

Cowles Library faculty and staff profiles

Jobs

Student employment at Cowles Library

Visit

Hours & Location

Where we are and when we're open

Alumni & Visitors

Services for Drake alumni and visitors

Library Spaces

Floor Maps

Navigate the library

Room Reservations

Check availability and reserve a room

Computers & Printing

Technology in the library

Mission, Vision, & Strategic Initiatives

Mission

Cowles Library mission and vision

Policies

Policies governing use of library resources, space, and services

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

Library support for diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice