Cowles Library

Art and Design

Resources for the fields of Art History, Graphic Design and Studio Art.

Database Access

Your Drake ID (9 digits) and password will be required to access the below databases.

If you experience any technical issues while logging in, please call the Drake ITS Help Desk at 515-271-3001. Phone support is available 24/7.

The ITS Service Portal can help you with Blackboard or other computer problems

Articles

Academic Search Ultimate
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Art & Architecture Complete
Art research database with full-text coverage, indexing and abstracts and an image collection.
Art Magazine Collection Archive
ARTnews 1902-2006; Magazine Antiques 1922-2016; Art in America 1913-2005.
Credo Reference
Reference articles covering all major academic subjects.
eScholarShare
Scholarly repository of Drake University. Includes 1000+ electronic theses & dissertations.
Gale eBooks
Reference works and eBooks in all subject areas.
Gale Primary Sources
Search interface for all Gale Primary Source databases.
Harper's Digital Archives
Full-text articles from this general-interest magazine covering literature, politics, culture and the arts. Coverage: 1850-Present
JSTOR
More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources
Marquis Who's Who in America
Biographical information from various "Who's Who" series.
New York Times
New York Times access 1851-present. Direct access to virtually all NY Times content from that time period. Requires a separate, one-time registration. For details, visit http://library.drake.edu/nyt
Periodicals Archive Online
Archive of backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project Muse
Full-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
Very Short Introductions
Concise introductions to a wide range of subjects.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Entire run of Women's Wear Daily from 1910 to the present day.

Citation Guide

Chicago Manual of Style
16th and 17th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style.

Data and Statistics

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
The complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Oxford English Dictionary
2nd edition of the 20-volume set. Includes meaning, history, & pronunciation of over 1/2 million words, both past and present.

Images

Art & Architecture Complete
Art research database with full-text coverage, indexing and abstracts and an image collection.

Library Catalogs

HathiTrust Digital Library
Search or view complete books in the public domain.
WorldCat
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, and media in libraries worldwide.
WorldCat Dissertations
Bibliographic database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat

Streaming Video and Music

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Documentaries, educational films, and news clips in many subject areas.

Last Updated: Aug 24, 2024 7:23 AM
URL: https://library.drake.edu/art-design
Print Page

Subjects: Art & Design

Tags: art, art history, design, drawing, labor art, painting, printing, printmaking, sculpture, typography

Find

SuperSearch

Research Databases

Research Guides

Books & eBooks

Journals

Media

Newspapers & Magazines

Borrow & Request

Borrow & Materials for Checkout

Information about borrowing, renewing, and materials available for checkout

Course Reserves

Use materials placed on reserve by your instructors

FastTRAC

Borrow books directly from other Iowa academic library partners

Interlibrary Loan

Borrow material from libraries around the world

Request a Purchase

Ask the library to purchase books or other research materials

Collections

Archives & Special Collections

Drake history and Iowa political papers

Digital Collections

Online access to unique items from the University Archives

Featured Collections

Books, eBooks, and videos we highlight throughout the year

Other Campus Collections

Research Support

Research Guides

Handpicked by experts for your area of study

Research Consultation

Schedule a one-on-one session with a librarian

-

Subject Experts

Librarians who specialize in your area of study

Citing Sources

Find, organize, and use your citations

Tutoring

Writing Center, Speaking Center, and other Tutoring

Study Skills

Tools & resources to help develop your study skills

Teaching Support

Information Literacy Expertise

What we teach and how we can help in your courses

Library Liaisons

Connect with a librarian

Course Reserves

Put material on reserve for your courses

-

Course Material Support

Help with course material adoptions and textbook alternatives

OER

Explore, adopt, adapt, and create open educational resources

Publishing Support

Resources to help you publish your research

Collections

Finding Aids

University Archives

Drake Digital Collections

eScholarShare

Special Collections

Political Papers Collections

Web Archives

Exhibits

Harmful Content Statement

Research & Teaching

Archives Research Support

Archives Teaching Support

Records Management

About the Program

Collection Policy

Donate & Transfer Materials

Education & Training

FAQ

About the Archives

Mission

What we do and why

Visit

Hours, directions, and guidelines for your Archives visit

Policies

Policies governing use of Archives resources and services

Contact & Support

Reach, follow, and support the Archives

Students

Research Support

Guides, tutorials, and library expertise to help you succeed as a scholar

Using the Library

Borrowing materials, finding a study space, locating services

Drake Online

Library services and support directed toward Drake Online and other off-campus students

Feedback & Problems

Provide feedback or resolve a problem with the library

Faculty & Staff

Instruction

Resources and information literacy expertise to support your teaching

Requesting Materials

Ask a Question

Text to 515-650-4582

Email cowleslibrary@drake.edu

Call 515-271-2111

Chat Now

Submit a Question

Schedule a research consultation

FAQs

Connect

Meet Our People

Cowles Library faculty and staff profiles

Jobs

Student employment at Cowles Library

Visit

Hours & Location

Where we are and when we're open

Alumni & Visitors

Services for Drake alumni and visitors

Library Spaces

Floor Maps

Navigate the library

Room Reservations

Check availability and reserve a room

Computers & Printing

Technology in the library

Mission, Vision, & Strategic Initiatives

Mission

Cowles Library mission and vision

Policies

Policies governing use of library resources, space, and services

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

Library support for diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice