Cowles Library: Biology: Botany Databases & Other Resources

Databases & Important Resources

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in 40 disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window Contains citations to items in journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Encompasses over 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records with coverage back to 1926.

Book Catalog Cowles library's online catalog of books and ebooks.
Journals Direct access to Cowles Library's journal collection. Search by title or browse by subject. Electronic journals are available through this link.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science, a database that provides quick and powerful access to the world's leading citation databases and sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities research content. (Includes: Grants Index [1953-present], BIOSIS Citation Index [1926-present], KCI-Korean Journal Database [1980-present], Medline [1950-present], Preprints Citation Index [1991-present], ProQuest Dissertations and Abstracts [1637-present], SciELO Citation Index [2002-present], Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index Expanded [1900-present]).

Other Online Resources

Biodiversity Heritage Library "Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The group is developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections. This literature will be available through a global 'biodiversity commons.'"
Botanical Dermatology Database (BoDD) BoDD is an electronic re-incarnation of BOTANICAL DERMATOLOGY by John Mitchell & Arthur Rook, which was originally published in 1979 by Greengrass Ltd, Vancouver [ISBN 0-88978-047-1].
International Plant Science Center: The New York Botanical Garden "The mission of the International Plant Science Center (IPSC) of the New York Botanical Garden (NYBG) is "discovering and understanding the plants of the world and their evolutionary relationships." The IPSC Web site is a well-organized, detailed resource for professionals and students of botany. In addition, the introductory text and Flash programs provide useful information for interested nonprofessionals and middle-to-high-school-age audiences. The main page is divided into three major sections, Collections, Research, and Resources. The Collections section includes links to the Steere Herbarium and The C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium, the "electronic gateway" to the Steere collections. This virtual herbarium offers a wealth of information including project information, specimen lists, and searchable specimen catalogs, which would be of particular value to researchers. A See Also section includes Presentations of Ongoing Research with hyperlinks to Flash presentations on selected topics. These oral presentations with interesting, beautiful pictures are accessible to nonprofessionals as well as children. The Research section provides information on the IPSC's researchers and graduate students, including contact information and details of their research interests. The Meet Our Interns page, which contains short descriptions of student experiences, would be of particular importance to undergraduate students. The site also provides information about the IPSC graduate program and links to institutions with collaborative programs. The Resources section offers access to the NYBG's Index Herbariorum, a searchable database of nearly 4,000 public herbaria and 10,000 specialists/professionals. The Other Web Resources button in this section is extremely well populated with links to botanical libraries, online catalogs, botanical databases, photo collections, and more--basically everything a user might want to know about botany. The main negative of the site is the small text font size on some pages. Otherwise, IPSC is an excellent resource for a wide audience." Choice August, 2010.
Swingle Plant Digital Archive and Reference Collection "The Swingle Plant Digital Archive and Reference Collection is an online database of 1,700 digital micrographs taken from 384 specimens of flower buds, fruit, seeds, leaves, shoots, and roots. This unique tropical plant anatomy resource is drawn from specimens prepared by Walter T. Swingle, a botanist interested in economically important tropical plants (especially citrus), who was active in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Barbara Whitlock (plant evolutionary biologist, Univ. of Miami) digitized part of Swingle's collection for the Web through a University of Miami Libraries Digital Fellowship. The site is easy to navigate. Users can browse the images or search by order, family, name (scientific or common), plant structure, and, if available, specimen's country of origin. Images download quickly and can be saved to one's computer. The individual micrographs are of excellent quality and are well documented. The site also contains selected plant anatomy animations, brief information on Swingle's career and contributions, and a bibliography of relevant resources. The Swingle Plant Digital Archive and Reference Collection is an important contribution to plant anatomy research, an active field of study. The site will be of great value to researchers of all levels interested in tropical plant biology, and will serve as a useful reference for students of tropical plant anatomy." from Choice June, 2010.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat.org
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.

STEM Librarian

Dan Chibnall

Email Me

Contact:

Office 137
Cowles Library

515.271.2112

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science & Sustainability, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Physics

Biology: Botany Databases & Other Resources

Databases & Important Resources

Other Online Resources

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

STEM Librarian

Find

Borrow & Request

Collections

Research Support

-

Teaching Support

-

Collections & Exhibits

Research & Teaching

Records Management

About the Archives

Students

Faculty & Staff

Ask a Question

Connect

Visit

Library Spaces

Mission & Planning