Cowles Library: Biology: Anatomy & Physiology Medicine

Other Online Resources

Anatomy Videos (MedlinePlus), from the National Library of Medicine "MedlinePlus, (CH, Jul'06, 43-6562) the National Library of Medicine's source for consumer health information, recently added free anatomy videos to its Web site. The nearly 80 videos featured were produced by A.D.A.M., a company with a long history of creating high-quality medical images with the guidance of and under review by physicians. (A.D.A.M. illustrations are included in the MedlinePlus encyclopedia.) Topics covered by the videos include normal human anatomy and physiology (blinking, blood pressure), pathophysiology of diseases (glaucoma, Parkinson's disease), and clinical interventions (liposuction heart bypass surgery). Videos have clear narration and closed-captioning. They vary in length (ranging from 15 seconds to 3 minutes) and structure (some have title screens, music, and sound effects; others do not). Some appear almost unfinished in comparison to others. Language level is appropriate for a general audience, though some videos use jargon that may be hard for a nonmedical person to understand. The videos, which are integrated into the MedlinePlus encyclopedia, appear here in an alphabetical listing only by title; given the assorted topics available, spotting a topic of interest quickly is somewhat challenging. Some titles add to this confusion, e.g., the video on pain is titled "Feeling Pain." Videos are available here in QuickTime format only." from Choice, November 2010.
Eye Resources on the Internet A MASSIVE list of links and information about the eye, ophthalmology and vision science.
Google Body Browser
MedicalMnemonics.com: World's Database of Medical Mnemonics "MedicalMnemonics.com is a large, free database of "associative learning tools" designed to help users memorize facts about the human body and its treatment. Altruistic contributors upload jingles to share with others. The interface is simple and easy to use with no intruding advertisements. A partial listing of contributors indicates that this resource is known in medical schools worldwide. The site includes links to favorable reviews. Access is through drop-down menus that filter results by category. Abridged and unabridged versions are available for PDA, Palm OS, AvantGo, and WAP phone. A competing title for the iPhone with 1,400 entries is Evan Schoenburg's Medical Mnemonics for iPhone app http://medicalmnemonicsapp.com/Medical_Mnemonics/Medical_Mnemonics.html. Popular books on this subject include B. D. Mittman's TURBO Mnemonics for the Boards (3rd ed., 2005) and K. Khan's Mnemonics for Medical Students (2003). Blackwell Science's "Visual Mnemonics" series, e.g., Visual Mnemonics for Pathology (2003), by L. L. Marbas, adds clever line drawings for visual stimulation. However, the advantages of presenting this information online are numerous--in particular, the material is continuously updated. From the librarian's perspective, mnemonics titles are often missing, so replacing books with a free, shared online resource is attractive. Robert O'Connor, a family medicine resident in Newfoundland, is listed as the contact for this Web site. Alas, the most recent updates listed are from May 2007. One wonders whether this excellent resource will continue to evolve, remain static, or disappear." from Choice March 2010.
WebAnatomy "A collection of study aids for entry-level anatomy and physiology students." Particularly useful for its self-testing features.

Other Books

Gray's Anatomy Online The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy

Visible Body

Visible Body This link opens in a new window 3D interactive anatomy, physiology, and pathology visualizations and animations. Note: Requires registration with your Drake email address.

Databases & Important Resources

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in 40 disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.

Book Catalog Cowles library's online catalog of books and ebooks.
Journals Direct access to Cowles Library's journal collection. Search by title or browse by subject. Electronic journals are available through this link.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window National Library of Medicine's free version of Medline
Visible Body This link opens in a new window
3D interactive anatomy, physiology, and pathology visualizations and animations. Note: Requires registration with your Drake email address.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat.org
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.

Anatomy Books

Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
ISBN: 9781416059516
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
See anatomy from a clinical perspective with hundreds of exquisite, hand-painted illustrations created by, and in the tradition of, pre-eminent medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. Join the global community of healthcare professionals who've mastered anatomy the Netter way!
Netter's Sports Medicine by Christopher Madden; Margot Putukian; Eric McCarty; Craig Young
ISBN: 9781416049227
Publication Date: 2009-08-21
More than 1,000 Netter images, along with photos of physical examination techniques and imaging examples, provide a rich visual understanding, while a bulleted text format, combined with a user-friendly organization by specific types of injuries, makes reference quick and easy.
Sobotta by Reinhard Putz; Reinhard Pabst
ISBN: 9780702033230
Publication Date: 2008-10-23
The Sobotta Atlas covers the complete macroscopic anatomy in full detail and exceptional quality with almost 2000 figures. This unparalleled Atlas of Anatomy is organised by body region, mirroring the way you're taught during your dissection labs. Simple new introductions and general overviews help you to understand the more complex figures and connections - step by step.
The Architecture and Design of Man and Woman by Alexander Tsiaras; Barry Werth (Text by)
ISBN: 0385509294
Publication Date: 2004-10-19
A glorious, unparalleled view of the human body . . . Revolutionary computer images from the creator of From Conception to Birth reveal the wonders and complexities of every system in the male and female bodies. The human body is a marvel of engineering. From the muscular and skeletal systems of the hand working in concert to allow us to type, eat, and caress, to the circadian rhythms of the heart and digestive system keeping things moving despite our consciousness being elsewhere, our bodies are far more complex and awe inspiring than any man-made creation. In more than 500 astonishing images, he dismantles each system, highlights the anatomical difference between men and women, and rebuilds the body from the molecular level on up.
The Oxford Companion to the Body by Colin Blakemore (Editor); Sheila Jennett (Editor)
ISBN: 019852403X
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
The Oxford Companion to the Body is a fascinating and authoritative guide to every aspect of the body. It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers.
Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology by Robert B. Raffa; Elena Portyansky Beyzarov; Scott M. Rawls
ISBN: 1929007604
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology is a vivid, uniquely effective visual presentation of the pharmacodynamic relationship between drugs and the human body. It offers a unique visual approach to learning the basic principles of pharmacology - providing the most authoritative and broadest possible coverage of both the basic science and the clinical applications of pharmacology in a manner that is both scientifically rigorous and enjoyable. Succinct, easy-to-understand presentations of introductory pharmacologic principles based on classic images by Frank Netter as well as dynamic new illustrations from other talented medical artists. Divided by specific organ systems, each chapter shows how drugs are used for specific disorders of that system. Full color illustrations showing the organ systems coupled with illustrations showing how a drug works at a particular physiologic site Illustrative conceptualization of pharmacology principles in summary format.