Skip to Main Content

Cowles Library

Nursing: Home

What's on this guide?

This guide contains important databases for nursing, as well as books and access to SuperSearch to search for other resources Cowles Library can provide.

Main Nursing Databases

Literature Searching

CINAHL This link opens in a new window Index of nursing and allied health literature dating back to 1981.
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window National Library of Medicine's free version of Medline

Tertiary Resources (select info icon for more information)

DynaMed This link opens in a new window A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care' with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window Combined database containing both Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. The premiere evidence based complimentary and alternative medicine database. Effectiveness of treatments for various disease states is ranked based on analysis of the primary literature.
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window Formerly Lexicomp. Reviews the FDA, pharmaceutical industry, and clinical literature, researching the latest findings on drugs, indications, warnings, and interactions.

Other Nursing Databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.
Visible Body This link opens in a new window
3D interactive anatomy, physiology, and pathology visualizations and animations. Note: Requires registration with your Drake email address.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, a database that provides quick and powerful access to the world's leading citation databases and sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities research content. (Includes: Grants Index [1953-present], BIOSIS Citation Index [1926-present], KCI-Korean Journal Database [1980-present], Medline [1950-present], Preprints Citation Index [1991-present], ProQuest Dissertations and Abstracts [1637-present], SciELO Citation Index [2002-present], Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index Expanded [1900-present]).

Psych Resources

DSM-5 This link opens in a new window Published by the American Psychiatric Association, it provides a common language and standard criteria for the classification of mental disorders. It is used by mental health professionals worldwide.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Full-text journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.

SuperSearch

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Request books and journal articles that we do not have here at Drake: Select Here.

Visible Body - Web suite

Ask a question

Contact a Librarian!
library.drake.edu

Call with a question to 515-271-2111

Text your question to 515-650-4582

Email your question to cowleslibrary@drake.edu

Chat online (available during regular library hours)

Graduate Health Professions Librarian

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

515-271-2879

Cowles Library, Room 147

Subjects: Athletic Training, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Pharmacy & Health Science

Find

SuperSearch

Research Databases

Research Guides

Books & eBooks

Journals

Media

Newspapers & Magazines

Borrow & Request

Borrow & Materials for Checkout

Information about borrowing, renewing, and materials available for checkout

Course Reserves

Use materials placed on reserve by your instructors

FastTRAC

Borrow books directly from other Iowa academic library partners

Interlibrary Loan

Borrow material from libraries around the world

Request a Purchase

Ask the library to purchase books or other research materials

Collections

Archives & Special Collections

Drake history and Iowa political papers

Digital Collections

Online access to unique items from the University Archives

Featured Collections

Books, eBooks, and videos we highlight throughout the year

Other Campus Collections

Research Support

Research Guides

Handpicked by experts for your area of study

Research Consultation

Schedule a one-on-one session with a librarian

-

Subject Experts

Librarians who specialize in your area of study

Citing Sources

Find, organize, and use your citations

Tutoring

Writing Center, Speaking Center, and other Tutoring

Study Skills

Tools & resources to help develop your study skills

Teaching Support

Information Literacy Expertise

What we teach and how we can help in your courses

Library Liaisons

Connect with a librarian

Course Reserves

Put material on reserve for your courses

-

Course Material Support

Help with course material adoptions and textbook alternatives

OER

Explore, adopt, adapt, and create open educational resources

Publishing Support

Resources to help you publish your research

Collections

Finding Aids

University Archives

Drake Digital Collections

eScholarShare

Special Collections

Political Papers Collections

Web Archives

Exhibits

Harmful Content Statement

Research & Teaching

Archives Research Support

Archives Teaching Support

Records Management

About the Program

Collection Policy

Donate & Transfer Materials

Education & Training

FAQ

About the Archives

Mission

What we do and why

Visit

Hours, directions, and guidelines for your Archives visit

Policies

Policies governing use of Archives resources and services

Contact & Support

Reach, follow, and support the Archives

Students

Research Support

Guides, tutorials, and library expertise to help you succeed as a scholar

Using the Library

Borrowing materials, finding a study space, locating services

Drake Online

Library services and support directed toward Drake Online and other off-campus students

Feedback & Problems

Provide feedback or resolve a problem with the library

Faculty & Staff

Instruction

Resources and information literacy expertise to support your teaching

Requesting Materials

Ask a Question

Text to 515-650-4582

Email cowleslibrary@drake.edu

Call 515-271-2111

Chat Now

Submit a Question

Schedule a research consultation

FAQs

Connect

Meet Our People

Cowles Library faculty and staff profiles

Jobs

Student employment at Cowles Library

Visit

Hours & Location

Where we are and when we're open

Alumni & Visitors

Services for Drake alumni and visitors

Library Spaces

Floor Maps

Navigate the library

Room Reservations

Check availability and reserve a room

Computers & Printing

Technology in the library

Mission, Vision, & Strategic Initiatives

Mission

Cowles Library mission and vision

Policies

Policies governing use of library resources, space, and services

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

Library support for diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice