Research: Getting Started

1. Get background information on your topic from subject encyclopedias written by experts in the specific language of study. These resources can also be handy when you're searching for a topic.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe allows users to search the indexes and tables of contents of Cowles Library's extensive print and electronic reference collections, including specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs.

Modern Language Association (MLA ) International Bibliography

Searches for literature, language/linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory, and dramatic arts. Links to some full-text where available.

2. Search available resources related to a specific language by clicking on the appropriate language tab on the left navigation bar. Resources include items such as scholarly journal articles, data and statistics, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and videos. 

3. Keep track of your sources and generate your bibliography using a citation manager. 

Citation Management Tools

These are also called reference managers, and are applications you can use to create personalized collections of citations from your research sources. You can import citations from research databases and websites, or enter them manually, and organize and edit the citations for your research projects.

Style Guides

These tools provide standardized rules for citing sources in academic writing, ensuring clarity and uniformity. They help you properly format in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies, making it easier for readers to locate original sources. 

4. Meet with a librarian ("Get Research Help") if you need assistance with your research. To schedule an appointment, click the "Schedule Appointment" or the "Email Me" button. This guide is intended to get you started in your research; it is not an exhaustive list of all Cowles resources in language and culture studies. Let's work together, either in person or via Zoom, as you focus and develop your research!