World Languages & Cultures

WLC Databases (General)

DATABASE ACCESS

Your Drake ID (9 digits) and password will be required to access the below databases.

If you experience any technical issues while logging in, please call the Drake ITS Help Desk at 515-271-3001. Phone support is available 24/7.

The ITS Service Portal can help you with Blackboard or other computer problems

Articles

Academic Search Ultimate
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
African American Historical Serials Collection
Newspapers, magazines, reports and annuals documenting African American religious life and culture from 1829-1922.
ARTFL Project
Collections of digitized resources on the French language. Note: from the home page, click "Subscription Databases" to navigate to a specific collection.
Asian American Experience
Primary sources, perspective essays from leading Asian American studies scholars, and search and citation tools covering topics such as the role of discrimination in Asian American history and its effect on citizenship and civil liberties, the economic impacts of immigration and labor, and changing political and cultural representation.
Black Thought and Culture
Nonfiction writing by major American Black leaders.
Browzine
BrowZine lets you browse, read, save, and monitor scholarly journals in your subject areas on your mobile device or desktop/laptop.
Chicago Tribune
Chicago Tribune (1849-1994).
Clase and Periodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
Credo Reference
Reference articles covering all major academic subjects.
eScholarShare
Scholarly repository of Drake University. Includes 1000+ electronic theses & dissertations.
Gale eBooks
Reference works and eBooks in all subject areas.
Gale in Context
Journal articles, case studies, news, and videos focused on the study of the environment and sustainability.
Gale Primary Sources
Combines Gale databases into one searchable environment. Also provides features such as term clusters, term frequency and popularity, detailed subject indexing, annotation and tagging features, along with an easier and more dynamic search.
Gender Studies
Journal articles in gender, sexuality, and women's studies.
Global Issues
A resource for international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
HAPI-Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Journal article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US.
Japan Times
The Japan Times (1997-present).
JSTOR
More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources
Latino-American Experience
Reference/scholarly texts, primary sources, and images focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline.
Modern Language Association (MLA ) International Bibliography
Modern Languages Association search for literature, language/linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory, and dramatic arts. Links to some full-text where available.

more... less...

MLA International Bibliography covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

Coverage is international and includes titles and full-text links from online publishers including JSTOR, Project MUSE, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.
Motif-Index of Folk Literature
An index to themes and motifs in folk literature from Ireland to India.
Music Index Online
Guide to music periodicals and literature featuring content from 1970 to present
Project Muse
Full-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
PsycINFO
Citation and abstract search in behavioral science and mental health.
SciELO Citation Index
SciELO content includes regional journals from Latin American and the Caribbean as well as titles from Spain, Portugal and South Africa.
Taylor & Francis Journals
Partial or full access to Taylor & Francis journals.
Times (London) Digital Archive
The Times (London) Archive, 1785-2019.
World History
Articles, reference works, and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Regional Portal
Primary and secondary source documents about Latin American and the Caribbean.

Citation Guide

Chicago Manual of Style
16th and 17th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style.

Data and Statistics

International Historical Statistics
Statistical compendium covering the years 1750-2010 (with annual updates). Includes all statistical tables as Excel spreadsheets, which can be downloaded for further analysis. Topics include population, national accounts, labor force, agriculture, external trade and industry. Each section has a full description of the sources used to compile the statistics.
Sage Data
Formerly Data Planet Statistical Datasets. Statistical data in a wide range of subject areas, with tools for searching, analyzing and visualizing.
World DataBank
Access to nation-by-nation (or aggregate) statistical data.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

African American Experience
Encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences.
Britanica Online
The complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Grove Dictionary of American Music
Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (2013).

eBooks and Audiobooks

Faculty Select
Faculty Select helps Drake University faculty find and select affordable, barrier-free textbooks for their courses. Faculty can find openly licensed textbooks, eBooks the library owns, and eBooks the library does not own but is willing to purchase.
Gale eBooks
Reference works and eBooks in all subject areas.
Libby
Popular eBooks and audiobooks.
Overdrive
Popular eBooks and audiobooks. Sign in with your Drake email address and password.

Interactive Language Learning

Mango
Interactive language-learning database covering 71 languages.

Geneology

Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestor search and genealogical information from census records, historical maps, and more.

Library Catalogs

WorldCat
Locate books, journals and magazines, music scores, and media in libraries worldwide.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and access platform. HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.

Streaming Video and Music

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Documentaries, educational films, and news clips in many subject areas.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming platform for libraries with a collection featuring over 26,000 movies, documentaries, and indie and foreign films from hundreds of producers including The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Kino Lorber, and PBS and thousands of independent filmmakers. Instructors must request that the library purchase a license to a film before it can be made available for viewing.
Naxos Music Library
Streamed recordings of primarily classical music. Also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, folk, and traditional music. 5 simultaneous users
Swank Streaming Films
A curated collection of streaming films chosen to align with Drake courses. Instructors may request access to non-licensed Swank films if they register with an instructor account. Guide to Swank Streaming Films (https://library.drake.edu/streaming/swank)

World Languages & Cultures

WLC Databases (General)

DATABASE ACCESS

Articles

Citation Guide

Data and Statistics

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

eBooks and Audiobooks

Interactive Language Learning

Geneology

Library Catalogs

Streaming Video and Music

Find

Borrow & Request

Collections

Research Support

-

Teaching Support

-

Collections

Research & Teaching

Records Management

About the Archives

Students

Faculty & Staff

Ask a Question

Connect

Visit

Library Spaces

Mission, Vision, & Strategic Initiatives