Environmental Science: Other Resources

"The Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC) is the primary climate-change data and information analysis center of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). CDIAC is located at DOE's Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and includes the World Data Center for Atmospheric Trace Gases. CDIAC's data holdings include records of the concentrations of carbon dioxide and other radiatively active gases in the atmosphere; the role of the terrestrial biosphere and the oceans in the biogeochemical cycles of greenhouse gases; emissions of carbon dioxide to the atmosphere; long-term climate trends; the effects of elevated carbon dioxide on vegetation; and the vulnerability of coastal areas to rising sea level."

"Carbon Footprint of Nations (CFoN) is an interesting site sponsored by the Industrial Ecology Programme and Department of Energy and Process Engineering, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, in collaboration with the Center for International Climate and Environment Research-Oslo. People certainly hear about carbon footprints and their impact all the time, so this site may interest users concerned about the environment. CFoN clearly states that it provides carbon footprint data not included in the emissions inventories of the UN. The site primarily consists of a blog, the footprint calculator, and an FAQ section. Some blog postings are current, but others are not as up-to-date. Authors who post frequently are listed on the left sidebar, so users can go to all postings from a specific individual. The calculator allows visitors to select a country and view various components of its footprint, e.g., exports, imports, households.

The search function is basic; however, the site map link is right next to the search box, so users most likely will not need to search. The Press link offers access to a few media resources, most of which are European and in various languages. CFoN does not contain an overwhelming amount of information at this time. Although the site is fascinating to look through, it seems to be aimed at serious researchers or those who support the concept of carbon footprints. It worked fine on Internet Explorer 7 and Firefox 3.5.3. Currently, nothing is listed on the Terms and Conditions page. If CFoN becomes a more dynamic site with current postings, it could be of value to a wider audience." from Choice, November 2010.

Delving into the often-confusing world of carbon offset programs and research, CORE compiles data from authoritative governmental bodies and international organizations (e.g., US Environmental Protection Agency, World Bank, UN, and World Wildlife Fund). However, the site states that CORE does not reflect the views of these institutions nor does it obtain any official endorsements from them. An initiative of the Stockholm Environment Institute, CORE provides plenty of data regarding various types of legislation regarding carbon offset programs, both in the US and abroad. The site also includes a decent glossary to help the user navigate through the world of carbon offset and the policies and regulations that define it.
In addition to a general search box, the site offers three categories: Policy, Consumer, and Aviation. The category boxes open on the left side of the home page and contain a number of easily accessible subcategories, which provide the user with clear subject matter. The site contains quite a bit of legislative information as well as some additional information on companies and funds that embrace the carbon offset programs. This site can be described as having a bias toward promoting the subject matter, even though authoritative resources are cited. With that in mind, users should be wary of using this as a single stand-alone reference resource. Appropriate for a broad audience interested in carbon offset issues, CORE should be consulted along with additional resources on the topic. See related, Handbook of Carbon Offset Programs by Anja Kollmuss et al. (CH, Nov'10, 48-1588).

"The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) is a center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University. CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment."

"The Earth Exploration Toolbook (EET) is a free educational Web site that was developed by the Science Education Research Center at Carleton College with funding by the National Science Foundation. EET is currently maintained by individuals from various scientific organizations and academic institutions. The site's purpose is to "support the use of scientific datasets, data access and analysis tools, and other products by the broader educational community" and provide instructions on conducting the activities on the site. EET is a clean Web site with easy navigation. There are a variety of ways to find information in the chapters; users can search by keyword in the simple search box, navigate the frame on the left side of the page, and/or narrow a topic using the provided links on the right. Individual chapters cover a wide array of topics related to global climate change, geology, wetlands, oceans, atmosphere, and more.

Chapters provide a brief description of the topic and contain sections including Teaching Notes, Case Study, Step-by-Step Instructions, Tools and Data, and Going Further. Many chapters have not been updated in five or more years, but this does not mean that the information is out-of-date since scientific facts and data would not necessarily change every year. Chapter content, which is contributed by experts in their respective areas, is carefully tested by chapter authors and classroom teachers. Site organization is helpful and efficient. Overall, EET is a useful resource for earth science students and teachers at all levels."

"This series shows the physical processes and human activities that shape our planet. From earthquakes and volcanoes to the creation of sea-floor crusts and shifting river courses, Earth Revealed offers stunning visuals that explain plate tectonics and other geologic concepts and principles. Follow geologists in the field as they explore the primal forces of the Earth."

"EnviroMapper for Water is a web-based Geographic Information System (GIS) application that dynamically displays water quality and other environmental information about bodies of water in the United States. This interactive tool allows you to create customized maps that portray the nation's surface waters along with a collection of water quality related data from the national level down to community level."

"Environment Canada is a government agency headquartered in Gatineau, Quebec, with 100 offices throughout the country; one of its primary missions is to "preserve and enhance the quality of the natural environment." The Environment Canada Web site, available in both French and English, provides specific information for Canadians about the environmental programs and services offered by the government. The site's main page is divided into several sections.

The Highlights, In Focus, and Announcements sections feature noteworthy items and current environmental news. Key topics listed on the left menu include Climate Change; Air; Nature; Pollution and Waste; Water; Weather and Meteorology; Science and Technology; Economics and Sustainability; and Acts, Regulations and Agreements. Most categories offer a Find Out About section for further information on a subject. In addition, some pages contain a search engine box to search all content on the site. The site's Media Room provides access to the latest media advisories, news releases, and speeches and statements on the environment as well as links to archived items dating back to 2001. The Take Action section includes information on steps the general public can take to improve the environment, along with a useful Resources for Educators section that provides guides and lesson plans for instructors of students age five and older. The Weather section links to the detailed Canadian Weatheroffice site. Each of the Web pages has a footer stating when the page was last updated and a link to information on copyright, privacy, and hyperlinking to the site. The Web site does contain some inconsistencies in design and navigation that will be addressed in the future for increased ease of use. Overall, this site is useful for obtaining up-to-date general information on the environment and related research with a Canadian focus." Choice, August 2009.

"Undergraduates researching the effects of environmental contaminants on wildlife and fish will find a wealth of useful, high-quality information on this Web site provided by the US Fish and Wildlife Service. Specialists in the service's Environmental Contaminants Program, stationed at more than 75 locations nationwide, conduct field studies on the effects of pollution on fish and wildlife and their habitats. This well-organized, up-to-date Web site presents their scientific findings. The Featured Topics section includes Oil Spills, Pest Management, Migratory Birds, Amphibians, Pollinators, Water Quality, and Restoration. For each topic, extensive background information and fact sheets are provided, as well as links to related Web sites. Some topics include a section that offers suggestions on practical steps individuals can take to help the environment.

An in-depth look at a current environmental issue, such as the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, fills the central section of the Web site. Extensive links are provided to related species profiles, news releases, videos, and media teleconferences, with a focus on the impacts to wildlife and fish. The Electronic Library will be of particular value to students, providing easy access to recent fact sheets, scientific papers, and planning documents. Users can search the library by keyword or by state. A potential source of confusion for students is that links are included to journal articles that will be available only if their library subscribes to those journals; however, most information is readily accessible to all users. The Environmental Contaminants Encyclopedia http://www.nature.nps.gov/hazardssafety/toxic/ (CH, Nov'98, 36-1586), compiled by the National Park Service, provides detailed information on the impacts of specific pollutants on wildlife but has not been updated recently." from Choice, November 2010.

"The Environmental Protection Agency Office of Water Web site is a go-to resource for reliable information about water. The site contains current information about the Office of Water, links to regional water information, water news, and 25 Quick Finder links to sections such as Biosolids, Green Infrastructure, Sustainability, and Wetlands. Some pages provide short lists of links to related Web pages, while others contain large amounts of information including definitions, fact sheets, and related topics. A few links examined during this review went to redirect pages within the EPA Web site (CH, Apr'98, 35-4455).

The Office of Water Web site includes Laws and Regulations, Funding and Grants, Publications, Training, and Databases and Software pages. A What You Can Do section is intended to raise public awareness about water quality issues. The Education Resources section offers adult education information, materials for K-12 educators, and public awareness materials about environmental issues. Parents and K-12 educators may find the Water for Kids! section useful as well. A search box is readily available at the top of every page, allowing the user to search either the Office of Water section or the entire EPA Web site. At the bottom of the page a list of topics is categorized under five subheadings: Ground Water and Drinking Water; Water Science; Wastewater Management; Wetlands, Oceans, and Watersheds; and American Indian Environmental Office. Overall, this site provides much valuable information for a wide range of users." from Choice, May 2009

"The USGS Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center provides research and technical assistance in support of sound management and conservation of biological systems in the western United States."

"GeoPlatform - Gulf Response, developed by partnering agencies of the Federal Geographic Data Committee, is a free, interactive tool that provides "near-real time information about the response effort." The site uses a Web-based GIS platform, the Environmental Response Management Application, developed by NOAA and the University of New Hampshire's Coastal Response Research Center. The goal of Gulf Response is to provide a comprehensive source for spill information for responders at federal, state, and local levels as well as the general public and community leaders.

Gulf Response has a clean landing page and includes a video tutorial on how to use the interactive map. The map allows users to place an array of different layers at one time, revealing an evolving picture of the BP Deepwater Horizon oil spill disaster and the ongoing environmental and fisheries response. Layer categories include Resource Management, Bioresources, Sampling, and more. Photos taken by the Shoreline Cleanup Assessment Team can be linked to the map and viewed by selecting the place marks on the map. Additional information can be viewed by selecting the information icon in the upper-left corner and then clicking on that area of the map or the map symbol of interest. Quick clickable tools also help users measure area and distance on the map. Navigation is fairly intuitive. However, one should not select too many layers at one time, because the map can become quite cluttered very quickly. An exceptional resource for anyone interested in learning about the disaster off the Gulf Coast." from Choice, December 2010.

"The University of South Florida Libraries, working in collaboration with other universities, have created a guide to information and data on the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico as well as information on oil spills in other parts of the world. The libraries are also developing a digital library of relevant documents related to the gulf spill. Site coverage is thorough and geographically broad (covers the entire gulf, not just Florida areas). Since the oil spill and its impacts will be studied for years to come, the Gulf Oil Spill Information Center (GOSIC) is and will remain a work in progress as the site is further populated and developed. GOSIC is easy to navigate. Tabs at the top of the page divide content by major subject area such as Environmental Impacts, Legal and Political Impacts, BP Company Information, and more. Each of these subject-specific pages contains the primary subject content as well as sections titled Featured Resource and Key Sites (links to more-general sites related to the spill). Many sections offer links to news stories. In addition, GOSIC contains dynamic content such as RSS feeds and videos, along with other helpful information like spill images, contact information for USF faculty involved in researching the spill, and technical reports and data. Overall, a useful resource for obtaining up-to-date information on an important environmental issue." from Choice, December 2010.

"Health and Environmental Information Online (HERO), a continuously updated database of "hundreds of thousands" of sources considered for and/or used in human and ecosystem risk assessments, is prepared by the EPA's National Center for Environmental Assessment (NCEA). The recent public release of this database provides a unique opportunity for users to discover sources deemed important by NCEA literature researchers, who welcome suggestions for additional items to consider for inclusion. Although most sources are peer-reviewed journal articles, the database includes other articles, books, book chapters, reports, patents, Web sites, computer programs, pamphlets, public laws, and personal communications. The attractive home page summarizes content, offers topic browsing, and shows links to recent risk assessments and related sources, FAQs, and the search page.

Although searching is straightforward, help with searching, viewing, refining, and exporting results to bibliographic software appears on every page via the How to Use HERO link. To view the full record of a source, users click within its row and scroll to the bottom of the page. Full records link to risk assessments, if any, that include the source; some also display links to publicly available content, institutionally subscribed material, or a publisher's Web site for purchasing source material. The scope is rather broad: in an attempt to force a negative search, this reviewer searched for "elephants" and found 19 journal articles, although a sampling of those records indicated that they were not used as sources in risk assessments." from Choice September 2010.

Interactive periodic table that includes chemical properties as well as health and environmental effects of each element.

"The Atmospheric Science Data Center (ASDC) at NASA Langley Research Center is responsible for the processing, archival, and distribution of NASA Earth science data in the areas of radiation budget, clouds, aerosols, and tropospheric chemistry. The Data Center was established in 1991 to support the Earth Observing System (EOS) as part of NASA's Earth Science enterprise and the U.S. Global Change Research Program, and is one of several Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) sponsored by NASA as part of the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS). The Data Center specializes in atmospheric data important to understanding the causes and processes of global climate change and the consequences of human activities on the climate."

"The Earth Observing System (EOS) is a coordinated series of polar-orbiting and low inclination satellites for long-term global observations of the land surface, biosphere, solid Earth, atmosphere, and oceans. EOS is a major component of the Earth Science Division of NASA's Science Mission Directorate. EOS enables an improved understanding of the Earth as an integrated system. The EOS Project Science Office (EOSPSO) is committed to bringing program information and resources to program scientists and the general public alike."

"The only U.S. national laboratory devoted to fossil energy research, NETL implements a broad spectrum of energy and environmental research and development (R&D) programs that will return benefits for generations to come:

Enabling domestic coal, natural gas, and oil to economically power our Nation’s homes, industries, businesses, and transportation …

While protecting our environment and enhancing our energy independence.

NETL has expertise in coal, natural gas, and oil technologies, contract and project management, analysis of energy systems, and international energy issues.

In addition to research conducted onsite, NETL’s project portfolio includes R&D conducted through partnerships, cooperative research and development agreements, financial assistance, and contractual arrangements with universities and the private sector. Together, these efforts focus a wealth of scientific and engineering talent on creating commercially viable solutions to national energy and environmental problems."

"The National Environmental Data Index (NEDI) provides direct access to environmental data and information descriptions, and thereby, improves awareness of and facilitates access to data and information holdings. The overall goal of the NEDI is to facilitate the use of the widest possible range of environmental data and information to support our ability to protect human health, safety, and welfare; to maintain and restore ecological integrity; and to sustain economic stability and growth. The NEDI will be a focus for identifying environmental data and information holdings within the United States and ultimately, internationally."

"We support research into our world's frozen realms: the snow, ice, glacier, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth's cryosphere. Scientific data, whether taken in the field or relayed from satellites orbiting Earth, form the foundation for the scientific research that informs the world about our planet and our climate systems."

"This is the official Web site of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), a laboratory of the US Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. NREL's main focus is research and development in renewable energy and energy efficiency, as well as in technology transfer. The site has an easy-to-navigate design. For example, it contains useful, clearly visible navigation tools such as the search box, a site map, and a link to contact information complete with phone numbers and addresses. The site incorporates Web 2.0 tools including RSS news feeds and the ability to follow the site via Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

A series of blue tabs across the top of the screen divides the site into sections: About NREL, Energy Analysis, Science and Technology, Technology Transfer, and Applying Technologies. Under each tab are brief descriptions about NREL's activities in each area along with links to more detailed information. A section titled Learning about Renewables, with a listing of resources for secondary school and college students, appears after a user clicks on one of the former sections. Related news and events are listed on the sidebar of some pages. The site offers detailed information about NREL's research areas, such as advanced fuels and vehicles research and geothermal energy. Other useful resources include the Photographic Information eXchange (PIX), GIS maps and data, and a searchable publications database containing various documents (technical reports, conference papers, books, articles, etc.) from 1977 to the present. The NREL Web site is an important resource for anyone doing research or wanting to learn more about renewable energy and energy efficiency." from Choice June, 2010.

At News@nature.com you will find breaking news, extended features and analysis, acclaimed columnists, plus blogs and multimedia specials. News@nature.com also hosts news stories from Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Medicine, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, and BioEntrepreneur, along with science careers news from NatureJobs. These articles appear on news@nature.com up to several weeks before they’re published in the print editions of these journals.

"The Earth System Research Laboratory's mission is to observe and understand the Earth system and to develop products through a commitment to research that will advance the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA's) environmental information and services on global-to-local scales."

The work at the Earth System Research Laboratory includes:

understanding the roles of gases and particles that contribute to climate change
providing climate information related to water management decisions
improving weather prediction
understanding the recovery of the stratospheric ozone layer
developing air quality forecast models

"The Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) is a government Web site containing scientific and technical report information, as well as current news related to the field of energy. The site, maintained by the US Department of Energy's Office of Science, participates in several partnerships and alliances, including Science.gov, NTIS, WorldWideScience.org, and the IEA Energy Technology Data Exchange. Part of OSTI's mission is to make research and development progress and results easily available to the agencies served as well as the public.

In some cases, only citations to the documents are provided, with sufficient information to guide users to the proper agency for access. Available full text can be found under the Information Bridge, which is listed in several places throughout the site. The search options for this section are good, giving basic and advanced options and detailed search assistance. There are two very specialized areas represented in the tabs along the top of the main page. Library Tools is clearly for those working in libraries since the next subsection is Bibliographic Tools (including Marc Records, OAI Records, XML Services). The other specialized tab is DOE Community Only; only one part of this area requires a password. OSTI also offers links to videos, audio/podcasts, options to register for alerts and RSS feeds, as well as options to use some very helpful widgets. A Site Map and A to Z Index available on each page facilitates usage. This is an excellent resource for anyone needing access to energy and energy-related information or to keep current on what is happening in this area." Choice December, 2009.

"The Right-to-Know Network (RTK NET), a service provided by OMB Watch, provides free access to numerous environmental databases. With the information available on RTK NET, you can identify specific factories and their environmental effects, and assess the people and communities affected."

The official website of the trade association of industries dealing with solar products and services.

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Web site provides regional and global environmental information focusing on UNEP's six priority areas: Climate Change, Disasters and Conflicts, Ecosystem Management, Environmental Governance, Harmful Substances, and Resource Efficiency. UNEP's site boasts attractive visuals and multiple ways to navigate to information, as well as a Google Custom Search box. The site is available in English, Chinese, French, and Spanish.
Links to information about each of UNEP's priority areas are prominently featured on its home page, as are links to information about the UNEP organization and outreach programs, news, an events calendar, and Multimedia and Publications sections. Featured items from each of these areas are highlighted on the home page, in addition to a featured UNEP expert, campaigns and related programs, and links to follow UNEP on social media. UNEP also makes its resources available by audience, providing links for businesses, students (mostly primary and secondary school), the general public, governments, the media, and scientists. Of particular interest are the publications, all freely available online; these include annual reports, atlases, serials, and e-books, as well as a link to order print copies of publications. Links to other UN publication Web sites are provided. The Multimedia section is a rich source of information in many formats including films, photos, and podcasts. Each priority area page provides deep and broad content on its environmental issue, including introductory information, Science, Policy, and Methodology sections, partners, and information on UNEP's work in the area, as well as relevant news, events, and publications. UNEP has produced an appealing Web site that provides students, researchers, and the general public with unique environmental information from an international perspective. Choice Jan., 2011.

"The Environmental Policy Collection is one of 30-plus digital collections within the University of North Texas Digital Library. Its current focus is climate change. Reports and books from local, state, regional, national, and international governmental agencies and scientific organizations make up a majority of the collection, although 60 environmentally focused UNT dissertations and theses are also included. Resources are from authoritative sources including the US Climate Change Science Program, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, UN Environment Programme, Great Britain's Office of Climate Change, the World Meteorological Organization, and Japan's Ministry of the Environment. In addition to policy, the collection hosts documents in supporting disciplines such as environmental science, ecology, and climatology. An overwhelming majority of the content is in English and was published between 2000 and 2009. Although the documents are currently available from producers' Web sites, the UNT collection is meant to serve as a permanent archive.

The Digital Library platform has a clean layout, intuitive navigation, and basic and advanced searching functions. Faceted searching allows for limiting results, and several options exist for sorting and viewing them. Two UNT librarians in the library's Information Technology Services Department manage the collection; the role of reference librarians in the selection process is unclear. The collection's scope note states that it contains "resources that provide a balanced view on environmental issues and their potential consequences." This reviewer is uncertain about the extent to which the goal of presenting a "balanced view" guides selection decisions. While sizable, this collection is not exhaustive. The site could be viewed as an extensive subject guide, but due to the technical nature of the content, it will be of use mainly to upper-class undergraduates, science majors, and graduate students." from Choice, September 2010.

"This Web site, a collaborative effort initiated by the US Department of the Interior, focuses on the biological aspects of natural resource management issues. The Biological Resource Discipline (BRD), under the direction of the US Geological Survey, operates cooperatively across federal, state, and private sectors and serves as a resource for research on biological informatics, fisheries, wildlife, invasive species, ecosystems, and genetics. Whether describing white-nose syndrome in bats or mercury levels in bird embryos, this site presents the biological complexity identified on lands stewarded by the Department of the Interior.

The BRD subject pages are well organized and include sections for research highlights, featured publications, links to databases, and short subject columns. Of particular note is the Status and Trends page, which provides biological data analyses for use by scientists and the public. Web links, photographs, podcasts, and videos complement the subject pages. The BRD site is easy to navigate and emphasizes multiagency, cross-disciplinary collaboration that is informative and engaging for biologists, students, and the general public." from Choice, June 2009.

"The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Earth Resources Observation Systems (EROS) Data Center is the national archive of remotely sensed images of the Earth's land surface. These data are acquired by civilian satellites and aircraft and used to study a wide range of natural hazards, global environmental change, and economic development and conservation issues. EROS staff members manage and distribute these data to scientists, policy makers, and educators worldwide."

"Your Geoscience resource for maps and related data about: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology."

"The Wetlands Web site is a division of the larger US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) site. Generally, the layout is simple and contains few graphics. The main content addresses four essential themes: What Are Wetlands? Why Protect Wetlands? How Are Wetlands Protected and What You Can Do to Protect Our Vital Resource. Each question contains several subtopics with basic information and supplementary links related to wetlands. Additional navigational elements are found on the sidebars and a drop-down menu at the bottom of the main page. However, most of the topics and links found here are duplicated within the four main sections. In addition, a brief list of current news topics is available on the right side of the screen.

Printing and downloading options are very accommodating to users. In particular, the Wetland Fact Sheets provide low resolution for viewing and high resolution for printing PDF files. Of note are numerous links to resources outside the EPA Web site. Each link contains a disclaimer about the accuracy of information the link provides and a note indicating that the links listed do not represent an endorsement by the EPA. Additionally, any outdated information produced by the EPA is clearly marked for reference purposes only. This is especially important for researchers who need up-to-date, accurate information. Another feature is the ability to share and link to this site through an integrated list of social bookmarks, e.g., Facebook, Del.icio.us. Overall, this site is useful for background information about the state of US wetlands. Undergraduates and researchers would particularly benefit from this information and from the numerous links to additional resources allowing them to further expand their investigation of this subject." Choice April, 2010.

"The purpose of Wilderness.net is to educate its users about wilderness in the US and the value of public land preservation. Created in 1996, the site, a collaboration of the University of Montana's Wilderness Institute, the Arthur Carhart National Wilderness Training Center, and the Aldo Leopold Wilderness Research Institute, provides historical time lines, acreages, and descriptions of wilderness areas.

Wilderness.net offers a range of information for different groups including wilderness managers, researchers, educators, and students. The Education section is subdivided into K-12 Education and University Education. There are a variety of ways to search for information on the site. Visitors can use the global search box available at the top of each page, or use the detailed search options in the Find a Wilderness and Maps, Data and Images sections. In addition, the Law Library in the Tools for Managers section allows users to search for all wilderness-related legislation. The Maps, Data and Images section contains numerous useful maps, publications, statistical reports, and photographs. The Image Library provides unique collections of photos in various categories. The photos showing the damaging effects of recreational use and pollution would be useful to environmentalists. The US/Mexico border-related impact gallery of photos may not be found on other sites. The main page also features an Image Library Gallery of beautiful wilderness-related photos and listings of important updates and announcements. Overall, this site is well organized, easy to search, and user-friendly. For those with visual impairments, an option to enlarge text is provided at the top of each page. A valuable site for learning about wilderness areas or conducting research." Choice December, 2009.

"This Internet Guide was built in response to the many reference questions that are posed to the library and is meant to make Internet searching more efficient for the NOAA community, the academic community, other government agencies concerned with oceanic and atmospheric issues, and the general public. Presently WINDandSEA has over 1,000 selected links to science and policy sites organized by topic and alphabetically within topic. All of these sites have been reviewed and annotated by NOAA Central Library and NOAA Regional Libraries staff."

"World Resources Institute (WRI) is an environmental think tank created in 1982 as an independent, credible source of policy research and analysis to find practical ways to protect the Earth and improve people's lives. WRI structures its activities around four main goals, highlighted on their Web site. Climate, Energy and Transport focuses on protecting the planet from further degradation and helping the natural world adapt to climate change. Governance and Access promotes "environmentally sound and socially equitable decision-making." Markets and Enterprise strives to expand opportunities to protect the environment, and People and Ecosystems seeks to reverse current unacceptable conditions to improve life for humans worldwide. Recent projects include exploring the economic valuation of coastal ecosystems, biofuels production, and international deforestation.

Site navigation is through tabs and drop-down menus. The Our Work tab further subdivides WRI's main goal categories into current stories, projects, and links to full text. Most topics include related links for further investigation, as well as links to searchable data, publications, and charts and maps. Users may also conduct simple keyword searches and then restrict results to all WRI sites, news stories, publications, or charts and maps. Print publications written by experts may be downloaded or ordered for the cost of shipping and handling. Many electronic documents include embedded videos and datasets. The WRI main site provides links to additional WRI sites such as EarthTrends http://earthtrends.wri.org/ (CH, Nov'07, 45-1471), which focuses on the "environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world." Users can also access WRI's online catalog of 10,000 books and more than 200 journals; materials can be borrowed through interlibrary loan. The WRI Web site is a useful resource for a wide audience ranging from high school students to postgraduates interested in policy-related, scientific, and/or economic aspects of environmental studies." from Choice, December 2010.

"The organizational mission of the Worldwatch Institute is to address the "21st-century challenges of climate change, resource degradation, population growth, and poverty by developing and disseminating solid data and innovative strategies for achieving a sustainable society." Primary programs include Climate and Energy, Food and Agriculture, Green Economy, and, to a lesser extent, "human health, population, water resources, biodiversity, governance, and environmental security." The site offers four subject-specific blogs (authored by Worldwatch experts) that provide a wealth of information and relate to programs on the main page, with logical connections between the pages. Resources provided on the site and in the blogs include press releases, videos, government reports, and articles produced by Worldwatch members. The blogs also include discussion forums and commenting options to engage readers with the information presented. Biographies, citations of selected publications and presentations, and contact information for Worldwatch's panel of experts are available, which further enhances the credibility and discovery of information, particularly for undergraduates. Annual reports from 2000 are freely accessible, though many other publications require purchase or a subscription to access. Note: World Watch magazine ceased publication with the July/August 2010 issue.

Site navigation is fairly simple and straightforward. The upper left-hand options remain consistent on the main domain pages, and bread crumbs alert viewers to their locations on the site. The search option for the main page (blogs have their own search) is generally useful, though there is no advanced search, and when users reach the last page of results, there is not always a way to navigate to other pages in the result set. Additionally, there is no save/export/e-mail option, though users can print and save pages using their browser's capabilities. Overall, this useful site provides timely information on several pertinent issues." from Choice, December 2010.

"Yale Environment 360 (e360) is an online magazine published by the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies and Yale University. Its purpose is to publish "opinion, analysis, reporting and debate on global environmental issues." Scientists, journalists, academics, environmentalists, and policy makers provide the content. e360 includes both opinion pieces and scientific research, all clearly labeled. It is written for well-informed citizens rather than experts. Users may browse by Topics, which include Biodiversity, Business and Innovation, Climate, Energy, Forests, Oceans, Policy and Politics, Science and Technology, Sustainability, and Water. Recent stories covered Andean glaciers, drought in Australia, the use of satellites and Google Earth in ecological studies, and global warming. Users may also browse by Regions, including Antarctica and the Arctic, Africa, Asia, Australia, Central and South America, Europe, the Middle East, and North America. In addition to a search engine, the site offers RSS feeds and an e-mail newsletter for those who want to keep up with the latest offerings." Choice, August 2009.