Skip to Main Content

Cowles Library

Chemistry: Books

Includes books, databases and web resources in chemistry.

Recently added:

Retrieving data...

Springer E-Books

Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books in a variety of subjects. You also have the option to order a personal print copy of eBooks owned by Drake for $39.99 (regardless of the actual book price). These "MyCopy" books are soft-cover b/w print copies that are mailed to your address.

Chemistry Reference Books

Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering Terms by Cheremisinoff, Nicholas P.
ISBN: 0750672102
"This reference book provides a comprehensive overview, from A (ABS (ACRYLONITRILE BUTADIENE STYRENE)) to Z (ZIEGLER POLYMERIZATION PROCESS), of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers. The main feature of the book is the range of topics from both theory and practice, which means that physical properties and applications of the materials concerned are described in terms of the theory, chemistry and manufacturing constraints which apply to them. It will therefore enable scientists to understand the commercial implications of their work as well as providing polymer technologists, engineers and designers with a theoretical background."
Dictionary of Chemistry by John Daintith
ISBN: 9780199204632
"A Dictionary of Chemistry covers all the commonly encountered terms in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry. Clear and concise coverage of laboratory techniques, chemical engineering, and environmental matters, plus entries on such topics as buckminsterfullerene, fullerite, quasicrystal, oscillating reaction, and one-pot synthesis."
Dictionary of Scientists by Daintith, John
ISBN: 0192800868
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Spanning over 2,500 years, it covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. Offering clear explanations of the science itself as well as its historical significance, the dictionary includes coverage of all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine.
Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units by Fenna, Donald
ISBN: 0198605226
This comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.

STEM Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Office 137
Cowles Library

515.271.2112

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science & Sustainability, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Physics

Other Books

Chem 1 Atoms and the Periodic Table
more...less...
An online textbook for general chemistry.
Chem1 Virtual Textbook
more...less...
An online reference text for general chemistry.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Portal to over 500 highly regarded reference sources. Examples of sources covered include: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology.

Find

SuperSearch

Research Databases

Research Guides

Books & eBooks

Journals

Media

Newspapers & Magazines

Borrow & Request

Borrow & Materials for Checkout

Information about borrowing, renewing, and materials available for checkout

Course Reserves

Use materials placed on reserve by your instructors

FastTRAC

Borrow books directly from other Iowa academic library partners

Interlibrary Loan

Borrow material from libraries around the world

Request a Purchase

Ask the library to purchase books or other research materials

Collections

Archives & Special Collections

Drake history and Iowa political papers

Digital Collections

Online access to unique items from the University Archives

Featured Collections

Books, eBooks, and videos we highlight throughout the year

Other Campus Collections

Research Support

Research Guides

Handpicked by experts for your area of study

Research Consultation

Schedule a one-on-one session with a librarian

-

Subject Experts

Librarians who specialize in your area of study

Citing Sources

Find, organize, and use your citations

Tutoring

Writing Center, Speaking Center, and other Tutoring

Study Skills

Tools & resources to help develop your study skills

Teaching Support

Information Literacy Expertise

What we teach and how we can help in your courses

Library Liaisons

Connect with a librarian

Course Reserves

Put material on reserve for your courses

-

Course Material Support

Help with course material adoptions and textbook alternatives

OER

Explore, adopt, adapt, and create open educational resources

Publishing Support

Resources to help you publish your research

Collections

Finding Aids

University Archives

Drake Digital Collections

eScholarShare

Special Collections

Political Papers Collections

Web Archives

Exhibits

Harmful Content Statement

Research & Teaching

Archives Research Support

Archives Teaching Support

Records Management

About the Program

Collection Policy

Donate & Transfer Materials

Education & Training

FAQ

About the Archives

Mission

What we do and why

Visit

Hours, directions, and guidelines for your Archives visit

Policies

Policies governing use of Archives resources and services

Contact & Support

Reach, follow, and support the Archives

Students

Research Support

Guides, tutorials, and library expertise to help you succeed as a scholar

Using the Library

Borrowing materials, finding a study space, locating services

Drake Online

Library services and support directed toward Drake Online and other off-campus students

Feedback & Problems

Provide feedback or resolve a problem with the library

Faculty & Staff

Instruction

Resources and information literacy expertise to support your teaching

Requesting Materials

Ask a Question

Text to 515-650-4582

Email cowleslibrary@drake.edu

Call 515-271-2111

Chat Now

Submit a Question

Schedule a research consultation

FAQs

Connect

Meet Our People

Cowles Library faculty and staff profiles

Jobs

Student employment at Cowles Library

Visit

Hours & Location

Where we are and when we're open

Alumni & Visitors

Services for Drake alumni and visitors

Library Spaces

Floor Maps

Navigate the library

Room Reservations

Check availability and reserve a room

Computers & Printing

Technology in the library

Mission, Vision, & Strategic Initiatives

Mission

Cowles Library mission and vision

Policies

Policies governing use of library resources, space, and services

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

Library support for diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice