By adhering to this policy, researchers maintain the integrity of our collections and support future research efforts.

Copyright Compliance

Materials in the Drake University Archives and Special Collections may be protected under copyright law (Title 17, United States Code), which regulates the reproduction and distribution of copyrighted works. Since the University Archives and Special Collections does not hold the rights to all materials in its holdings, users are solely responsible for ensuring compliance with copyright laws. For guidance on copyright and Fair Use, please consult Cowles Library’s Copyright Guide. Any use of copyrighted materials that extends beyond the exceptions outlined under Fair Use constitutes a violation of copyright law.

Citation and Credit

Proper citation of all materials from the University Archives and Special Collections is required for any use. Researchers must use the preferred citation format provided below to assist others in locating and referencing items from our collections. For non-archival materials, refer to Cowles Library’s guidelines on Citing Sources.

• Citing a Collection:
  [Collection Name], [Collection Number]. Drake University Archives and Special Collections.

• Citing an Item within a Collection:
  [Item Name or Description, Date], [Collection Date Range], [Box Number]. [Collection Name], [Collection Number]. Drake University Archives and Special Collections.

• Credits for Exhibitions and Media Projects:
  For exhibitions and media projects, credits should be provided as follows: "Courtesy of Drake University Archives and Special Collections". Contact the University Archives and Special Collections for additional guidance if needed.

Publication Requests

Researchers intending to use materials from our collections for publication purposes, must complete a Request to Publish Form and submit it to archives@drake.edu.