This page has a listing of databases for finding journal articles, online Reference books and websites that pertain to topics in philosophy and religion.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowCoverage Dates:Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title)Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowCoverage Dates:Varies, as early as 1995 - CurrentFull-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowDigital collections of primary sources from the 19th-century, including a collection of material on Religion, Society, Spirituality and Reform.
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowCoverage Dates:1865 - currentAcademic Search Complete includes more than 8,992 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The focus of this site is "to preserve quantitative data on American religion" while increasing and enhancing the use of such data. The archive includes data about churches, membership, individuals, congregations, and denominations. Project of Penn State University.
Polling results and media analysis in the areas of politics, law, domestic policy and world affairs, as they relate to religion. Sponsored by the nonprofit Pew Research Center.
This site systematizes searches of congregations that practice outreach to other faiths. Among its features is Religious Diversity News, compiled full-text articles (1997 to the present) that are searchable by keyword and date, and that contain links to primary sources providing opportunity for further research.
Provides current news coverage of religion and the media, with lengthy essays on relevant topics. Sponsored by the Center for Religion and the Media at New York University.
Includes all of these titles; Encyclopedia of Religion, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Encyclopedia of Buddhism, Encyclopedia of Science and Religion, among others.
Early American Imprints is a definitive primary resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18th-century America. It includes more than 36,000 printed works. It contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period.
Ethics & the Environment is an interdisciplinary forum for theoretical and practical articles, discussions, reviews, and book reviews in the broad area encompassed by environmental ethics.
It is the only scholarly journal under Catholic auspices in the English-speaking world devoted to the history of the universal Church. It publishes articles, review articles, book reviews, and lists of books received in all areas of church history.
American Jewish History is the official publication of the American Jewish Historical Society, the oldest national ethnic historical organization in the United States.
Modern Judaism provides a distinctive, interdisciplinary forum for discussion of the modern Jewish experience since the Haskalah, the Jewish Enlightenment
Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies & Gender Issues provides an international, interdisciplinary academic forum the only one of its kind for the innovative work being done in the many areas of research that comprise the field of Jewish women's and gender studies.
An expansion of the highly regarded Christian Spirituality Bulletin, Spiritus covers a wide range of disciplines within the field of religious studies: history, philosophy, theology, and psychology
