Contact a Librarian!
library.drake.edu
Call with a question to 515-271-2111
Text your question to 515-650-4582
Email your question to cowleslibrary@drake.edu
Chat online (available during regular library hours)
1. Get background information on your topic from subject encyclopedias written by experts in psychology. These overviews can also be handy when you're searching for a topic.
Reference Universe allows users to search the indexes and tables of contents of Cowles Library's extensive print and electronic reference collections, including specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs.
2. Search psychology databases (click box on left) to find scholarly journal articles and SuperSearch to find books.
3. Keep track of your sources and generate your bibliography by using a citation manager.
4. Meet with a librarian if you need help thinking through your research question and finding quality information. Look for the email and appointment links under my picture. This guide is intended to get you started; it is not an exhaustive list of all Cowles resources on psychology. Let's work together 1:1, either in person or via Zoom, as you focus and develop your research!
1. Purdue OWL
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides resources on in-text citation and bibliographies, as well as sample papers and slide presentations, such as the APA Formatting and Style Guide.
2. American Psychological Association. Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: the official guide to APA style. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, c2020.
BF76.7 P83 2020
Cowles Reference (print)
3. 3-minute YouTube Video on the APA Style Guide-7th Edition:
