Databases

Databases are keyword-searchable collections of articles, journals, and other research resources. Many articles you find here are available in full-text.

Upcoming Events

Chat

Loading Chat...

Quick Poll

Do you know how to contact a librarian for assistance?:

Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

Full text of The Nation, a weekly magazine.

Contains: National Journal online, CongressDaily, The Hotline, Technology Daily, & Almanac of American Politics.

The National Review has been a leading journal of opinion since its inception in 1955.

Evidence-based information for complementary/alternative medicine (CAM). Contains information for both health professionals and patients written at a variety of reading levels. Information from around the world is evaluated and each treatment is graded for its effectiveness for a given condition.  Consists of a number of databases and modules including:

  • herbs and supplements
  • medical conditions (click checkboxes to get a diagnosis)
  • comparative effectiveness of various treatments
  • genomics and proteomics
  • environmental resources
  • brand names (includes information on international brand names)
  • interactive tools (including various calculators, a nutritional information database and a CAM dictionary)

Nature is a weekly international science journal that publishes peer-reviewed original research, review articles, reports, and commentaries on the latest happenings in the sciences.
Based upon impact factor, it is the "world's top multidisciplinary science journal, and the world's top journal publishing basic scientific research."

"News@nature.com's mission is to provide the best science journalism on the web. Here you will find breaking news, extended features and analysis, acclaimed columnists, plus blogs and multimedia specials - all brought to you by our award-winning team of journalists, based in cities from San Francisco to Sydney.
In addition to our extensive original content, we also host news stories from Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Medicine, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, and BioEntrepreneur, along with science careers news from NatureJobs. These articles appear on news@nature.com up to several weeks before they’re published in the print editions of these journals." (from publisher blurb)

The Naxos Jazz Music Library collection features Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Charlie Parker and many more. This is a component of the Naxos Music Library.  This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

(Excerpted from publisher web site): Naxos Music Library contains over 355,000 recordings of classical, jazz, wind band, choral, and world music streamed at "CD quality" to your computer.  This collection contains 28,020 CD's, and over 399,800 tracks of music.  500 CDs are added every month. Contains Comprehensive Liner Notes. Includes Opera Synopses and Libretti, Composer and Artist Biographies and other Essential Information.

The recordings in Naxos Music Library include the complete catalogues of BIS, Chandos, CPO, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with more labels being added from time to time.

This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

The Naxos Spoke Word Library "comprises one of the most comprehensive collections of classic audiobook material available online."  It is a component of the Naxos Music Library.  The Naxos Spoken Word Library contains over 1,170 classic titles.  Over 340 Authors, Playwrights, and Poets are included.  All are read by "literary greats."  This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Brief blurb excerpted from publisher web site:

--The world's greatest literature-many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twentieth century.

--21 categories, from Children's classics, Classic fiction, to Shakespeare's Plays, Music Education, and many more

 

 

Library of electronic books.  Create a free account and view books from anywhere.

Full text of The New England Journal of Medicine
 

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is the country's leading journal of opinion on politics and the arts.

Full-text including scanned digital images of the New York Times.

Full-text coverage of "The New York Times."
Also includes "The New York Times Magazine," and "The New York Times Book Review."

Full-text of 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, and 6 newswires. Also includes the Christian Science Monitor & The Los Angeles Times.