Databases

Databases are keyword-searchable collections of articles, journals, and other research resources. Many articles you find here are available in full-text.

Upcoming Events

Chat

Loading Chat...

Quick Poll

Do you know how to contact a librarian for assistance?:

Databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

Academic Search Complete includes more than 8,992 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format

AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. At its core, AccessPharmacy is a set of 24 online, full-text books including major books like DiPiro's Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach and Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, with some being updated monthly.  A flexible resource, it allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.  Texts are supplemented with multimedia material like animations.

Full search of the encyclopedia plus science news, definitions, biographies, illustrations, animations and more.

Full-text of 32 journals published by the American Chemical Society.

Encyclopedia of information about African American life and experiences published by Greenwood Press.  Including: History, Biography, Literature, Arts, Music, Pop Culture, Folklore, Business, Slavery, Civil Rights, Politics, Sports, Education, Science & Technology, etc.

Includes material from major reference sets; includes many primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, etc.; includes  over 4,000 interviews with former slaves—the WPA slave narratives—from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; “In their Own Voices” audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files.

The Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC)  features the new, three-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, published by Oxford in 2006; the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine, published in March 2005, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience.

AMA Manual of Style contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.   This guide is an essential tool for physicians and other health professionals. In addition to the basics of grammar and citation, it leads writers through the maze of abbreviation, nomenclature, and quantitation.

A guided tour is available for first time users.

Indexing and abstracts of 2,400 scholarly journals on U.S. and Canadian History. Links to some full text where available. 

American History in Video includes 1,526 video titles totaling 528 hours and will untimately grow to include 5,000 videos and 2,000 hours of footage.  In addition to newsreel footage and titles from the Works Progress Administration, new PBS documentaries include:

  • The complete Ken Burns Civil War series
  • Episodes from Burns' Jazz series (with the rest to be added soon)
  • Two titles from Burns' America series
  • Nineteen titles from the American Experience series, including Roots of Resistance; One Woman, One Vote; The Gold Rush; Influenza 1918; The Orphan Trains; The Berlin Airlist; Building the Alaska Highway; Jimmy Carter; LBJ; Jonestown; The Great Transatlantic Cable; Korean War Stories; The Massie Affair; Race to the Moon; Citizen King; Two Days in October; and Nixon.

Keyword-searchable with synchronized transcripts, it's possible to make customized, annotated clips that can be saved to a personal playlist and shared in a class, cited in papers, or embedded on a web site.

Access from Volume 1 to the present for the following Annual Review titles:


  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Astronomy & Astrophysics
  • Biochemistry
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Biophysics
  • Cell & Developmental Biology
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Ecology, Evolution & Systematics
  • Entomology
  • Genetics
  • Genomics & Human Genetics
  • Immunology
  • Law & Social Science
  • Medicine
  • Microbiology
  • Neuroscience
  • Nutrition
  • Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease
  • Pharmacology & Toxicology
  • Physiology
  • Phytopathology
  • Plant Biology
  • Psychology
  • Public Health
  • Sociology

Access from Volume 1 to five years ago for all other Annual Review titles.

Index & abstracts of major journals in art, architecture, film, graphic arts, and related areas. Links to some full text where available.

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Includes subjects: business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture. For most items, ArticleFirst provides a list of libraries that have the journal title.

A collection of digital images of art, architecture and design from a number of books (notably art history survey texts), museums, archives, and slide collections.

The ARTstor Collection currently contains approximately 500,000 images. The Collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. (from pub blurb)

Technical Specifications:
Requires JavaPop-ups must be allowed and cookies enabled.
For full technical requirements, consult: this file.

The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Indexing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages, the ATLA Religion Database includes more than 460,000 article citations from over 1,500 journals, 651 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 260,000 essay citations from more than 15,400 multi-author works, and more than 423,000 book reviews, and an increasing number of multimedia citations. (from publisher blurb)

The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) was founded as a nonprofit, nondenominational, educational organization dedicated to the dissemination of information about archaeology in the Bible lands.  BAS educates the public about archaeology and the Bible through its bi-monthly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review.

The database contains Biblical Archaeology Review (1975 - present), Bible Review (1985 - 2005 complete) and Archaeology Odyssey (1998 - 2006 complete), plus five popular books.

 

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Collection of bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally. Links to some full text where available.

BioMed Central provides full-text access to about 100 bio-medical journals online.  Browsing by journal title or searching by keyword is possible.  Access is free to Drake students, but one needs to register for membership on the website.

Birds of North America (BNA) is only the fourth comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Edited by Drs. Alan Poole and Frank Gill, this series provides detailed scientific information (18 volumes, 18,000 pages in total) for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. The print version of BNA was completed in 2002, a joint 10 year project of the American Ornithologists' Union, the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, and the Academy of Natural Sciences.<br>BNA Online will build image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. And each online species account will contain recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.(excerpted from publisher blurb)

Information taken from publisher web site:

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience

At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience. This unique database examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more. The essays are contributed by leading academic experts who have surveyed and analysed the most important existing research literature in their respective fields.

International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP)

IIBP includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. See this journal title list (Excel format) for periodicals included. Most IIBP records in the current coverage contain an abstract, and additionally many IIBP records contain the corresponding full text of the original article. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. The journal list was prepared with the guidance of an advisory board including librarians specializing in Black Studies: Carol A. Rudisell, Associate Librarian, University of Delaware Library and Dorothy Ann Washington, Librarian, Black Cultural Center, Purdue University.

The Marshall Index was compiled by Albert P. Marshall, an African-American librarian at the State Teachers College in Winston-Salem, North Carolina and first published as a quarterly magazine, A Guide to Negro Periodical Literature, from 1941 to 1946. It was the first index to black serials ever compiled and covers 42 of the leading African-American periodicals between 1940 and 1946. The Marshall Index was published in a revised single-volume print edition by ProQuest in 2002, edited by James Danky and Richard Newman, and is now made available online through Black Studies Center.

The Chicago Defender

BSC provides the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender. Robert Sengstacke Abbott founded the Defender in May 1905 and by the outbreak of the First World War it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago. When Abbott died in 1940, his nephew John Sengstacke became editor and publisher of the Defender, which began publishing on a daily basis in 1956.

Black Literature Index

Black Studies Center includes the electronic index to the Black Literature microfiche collection. This index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940. For citations to content from the Chicago Defender for which full text is available in Black Studies Center, a link is included directly to the relevant article.

"The industry’s largest Web-based bibliographic resource for professionals.  

Find what you're looking for quickly and easily, using our unbiased, authoritative, and comprehensive database of over 5 million book, audio book, and video titles."

Also includes Book Reviews.

Fully searchable version of the encyclopedia with thousands of articles and illustrations.

Available through Gale Virtual Reference Library, all volumes are available.

Business Source Complete includes full-text coverage of nearly 2,900 business and trade journals. It also includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Business Source Complete includes coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes

  • Financial Data
  • Books
  • Monographs
  • Major Reference works
  • Book Digests
  • Conference Proceedings
  • Case Studies
  • Investment Research Reports
  • Industry Reports
  • Market Research Reports
  • Country Reports
  • Company Profiles
  • SWOT Analyses, etc.
  • Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Video Series

Prestigious Cambridge Economic Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world.

Free index to federal government publications distributed through the Superintendent of Documents.

Extensive coverage of business news (including profiles of more than 85 Fortune 500 companies), along with biographical sketches, criticism and comment of research-worthy topics, coverage of social issues, urban affairs, sports, politics and government and cultural affairs.

Fully searchable digitized version of the print Chicago Tribune (1849-1986).

Full-text access to the Chronicle of Higher Education. Content is updated daily. Also, you may set up "email alerts" and have them delivered to your in-box regularly.

Full-text of the Chronicle of Philanthropy. Content is added daily. Also, you may set up "email alerts" and have them delivered to your in-box regularly.

Full-text source for theory and research in international affairs.

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities while PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Full-text of 200+ journals in the area of mass media & communication studies. Also includes indexing of 300+ additional titles.

Electronic access to the full text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index is based on Communication Abstracts Thesauri.

Subjects include Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Cultural Studies, Television/Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational/Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.

"ConsumerLab.com provides comprehensive information about vitamin, herbal and other supplements, and nutritional products.  Includes ConsumerLab.com's independent product evaluations, lists of tested products (passed and failed), product recalls, and safety warnings.  A science-based encyclopedia of natural products is also provided, including a drug-interaction database."

Subscription provides for up to FOUR simultaneous users.

Full-text biographical information on twentieth century authors (novelists, poets, playwrights, etc.). Also includes New Revision Series.

Full-text, timely critical analysis of key literary works of authors now living or who died after 1/1/2000. Emphasis is on established authors.

Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information about individual countries. Also includes daily news coverage.

The CQ Congress Collection serves as a research and reference tool allowing a sweeping historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.

"Informed and objective commentary provides a sweeping survey of the powers and action of the legislative branch of the federal government, and explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making." (from publisher blurb)

"Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, CQ Public Affairs Collection pulls together CQ's wealth of original content, historic documents and primary source materials, statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs to create a one-stop source for public policy content." (from publisher blurb)

Looking for a "hot topic" on which to do a research paper? This database is a great place to start! It offers pros & cons, background information, and in-depth analysis on a variety of topics, issues, and controversies currently in the news.

This collection blends CQ's historical analysis and summaries of the most important Supreme Court decisions together with justice biographies, statistics, and a quantitative analysis on essential topics, an institutional history of the Court, and news feed on current events and public opinion surrounding the Court's decisions.

CQ has digitized the print "Historic Documents" series (1972-2003). This collection serves as a one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year's key events. Includes over 2,560 documents and 30,000 print pages.

"Broad content in the form of thousands of election analysis documents, statistical documents, primary source documents, case summary documents, and more. Exploring the campaign process, the election outcome, and points in between, including presidential, congressional, gubernatorial, and others, with data down to the county and district level." (from publisher blurb)

Complete coverage of the U.S. Congress; including status of bills, votes & amendments, floor & committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and much more.

CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between. It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips. At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas.

CREDO Reference - Business

Almost two dozen reference works (encylopedias, dictionaries, etc.) in business, economics, and allied areas.  Click on "Business" in the left-hand column.

CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service) was established to provide members, committees and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues.  Research divisions include: American Law, Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry.  Many CRS reports are updated at varying intervals, so it is always important to note the exact date of issuance rather than just the title and year of publication.

(Description excerpted from publisher web site)

Declassified Documents Reference System provides online access to more than 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.

After 1974, as thousands of previously classified United States government documents were declassified, the Declassified Documents Reference System was developed to organize the tremendous volume of material and to make it easily accessible to researchers. Declassified Documents Reference System has become a major and highly respected source of information about United States post-World War II domestic policy and international relations. It remains the only compilation of materials that are recorded as they are released by United States government agencies, the National Archives and Presidential Libraries. Declassified Documents Reference System contains over 78,000 documents, constituting more than 450,000 pages of material and is an unprecedented research tool for researchers, political scientists and policymakers around the world. Declassified Documents Reference System enables users to examine documents originating from a wealth of United States government official bodies and agencies, including:

  • Cabinet meeting minutes
  • National Security Council policy statements
  • CIA intelligence studies
  • Presidential conferences
  • State Department political analyses
  • Joint Chiefs papers

Iowa's largest and most influential newspaper, focusing on Des Moines and its suburbs with news coverage including regional, national, and international issues and events.

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, it contains all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members in all subjects.  There are over 8 million records in this database and it is updated daily.

Full-text of approximately 35 scholarly journals published by Duke University Press.

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is a catalog of online electronic books (over 665,000) available through libraries worldwide in all subjects.

Database of over 10,000 electronic books in a wide variety of academic subject areas.

**You will need to download plug-in (ebrary reader) to view the books.

NOTE: If you create an account and save information, you CAN access it from off-campus!

Access to over 8,300 pieces of sheet music.
**You will need to download plug-in (ebrary reader) to view the sheet music.

Published by the American Economic Association, it provides provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. It is an expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature.

Electronic access to the full text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index based on ERIC Thesauri.

Taken from publisher web site:

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the single most ambitious digitization project ever undertaken. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Eighteenth Century Collection Online - Law encompases the development of law in the British Empire between 1701 and 1800. Topics include acts, criminal and international law, appellants’ cases and more.

Over 130 full-text journals in the areas of business & management.

Articles and journals marked with
are not available to Drake users in full-text.

Available through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of the resource.  It contains a wealth of information about companies and businesses.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version of ERIC.

Department of Education's free version of ERIC.

Indexing and abstracts of journal articles and documents in education; links to some full-text where available.

Full-text coverage of 240 valuable resources for providing different viewpoints & perspectives from the ethnic, minority, and native press.

An internet based drug information library.  It contains the following databases:  Drug Facts & Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Drug Interaction Facts for Herbal, Non-Prescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, A to Z Drug Facts, Review of Natural Products, Med Facts:  Patient Handouts, Manufacturer Index, Drug Identifier, and The Cancer Chemotherapy Manual.

Provided through Gale Directory Library this is the most current version of this source.

Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.

Contains the largest and most up-to-date collection of Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports available online. Content covers a host of subject areas, including economics, environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism and more.

Gender Studies Database produced by NISC, combines NISC’s popular Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 696,750 records.(from publisher web site)

Full-text of 170 publications providing in-depth perspective on gender studies. Also includes Women's Studies & Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender studies.

A comprehensive career resource with information on 26,000+ companies. Glassdoor includes salary and bonuses and details for specific jobs at specific companies, as well as actual interview questions and hiring process details. Also included are reviews written by employees that highlight the pro's and con's of working for a particular employer. Reviews and data for this free database are posted anonymously by employees and job seekers.

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, the GPO Monthly Catalog covers all types of U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.

A bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Consumer-oriented health information. Includes full-text for over 190 journals, including Consumer Reports on Health, and Men's Health.

Provides full-text for over 590 scholarly journals in the medical and health sciences. Geared more towards the medical professional.

Full-text of more than 80 journals in the medical and life sciences.

Indexing and abstracts of over 2,100 scholarly journals in world history, from 1492 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Links to some full text where available.

Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data.

NOTE: (1) To be viewed or manipulated, data may require SAS or SPSS programs which are not currently available on library computers. (2) Users must create a free account to view data.  The account must be created on campus.  Once an account is created, it can be accessed on or off campus.

In the First Person is a new library index that lets users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. With a single search, users can access thousands of personal narratives in English from archives and repositories everywhere. The search returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available.

Bibliography of publications in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Provides access to over 292,000 records. 

**In library only, stand-alone CD-ROM.

IndexMaster provides searchable access to the indices and/or tables of contents of over 10,000 legal titles from over 65 legal publishers.

Document delivery. 

**Charges may apply.

Provided through Gale Virtual Reference Library this includes all 88 (and counting) volumes of this reference source.

Indexes articles in pharmaceutical related journals; links to some full-text where available.

Full-text of 60+ IOP (Institute of Physics) titles.  Also includes some journals published by Turpion.

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) Full-text of the journal:  1998-present; Table of Contents, Abstracts & Selected full-text: 1992-1997; Table of Contents & Abstracts only: 1975-1991; Table of Contents only: 1966-1974

Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.

This collection, as part of JSTOR, contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. They have been underutilized within research and teaching because they are generally quite difficult to access – often bound together in large numbers or otherwise hard to find in the few research libraries that hold them. The digitization of more than 20,000 pamphlets from seven UK institutions will provide researchers, students, and teachers with an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.

The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE’s content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos. *A Virtual Library on the Topics—Over 200 volumes of content, from encyclopedias to biographies* A Fully Searchable Timeline—Dating to the pre-Colonial civilizations of the Aztecs, Mayas, Incas, Caribes, and others, up through the most recent political movements and achievements of contemporary Latinos
* Origins Section—Content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic diaspora, and Indigenous Peoples
* Spanish-Language—Content—Including folktales, recipes, and primary documents
* Primary Source Material—Maps, images, audio clips, interviews, music files, speeches, documents, and other material in English and Spanish, plus links to vetted Web sites (from publisher web site)

Legal research sources.

Only available to pharmacy students.  Login and follow the links using the appropriate username and password.

Full-text newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources in a variety of subject areas including business, medical, law, and more.

Database with access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

LGBT Life (formerly: GLBT Life) contains full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,and Transgendered journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms.

"Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. With coverage extending back to 1966, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science." (from publisher blurb)

The Literary Reference Center was developed with undergraduate research in mind. It combines information from major reference works, books and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing providing users with information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Literary Reference Center includes
-130,000 author biographies
-3,000 author interviews
-over 1,000 images of key literary figures
-25,000 classic and contemporary poems
-11,000 classic and contemporary short stories

This database provides full-text access to over 22,000 American and British legal treatises.

A collection of legal transcripts and sensational trial accounts describing the courtroom drama in America, the British Empire and the world.

Biographical information from various "Who's Who" series. 

Indexes over 4,600 journals in the medical and health sciences. Links to some full-text where available.

National Library of Medicine's free version.

The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 20000 contemporary testing instruments. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska. Includes testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership.

License provides for up to 4 simultaneous users.

Company Financial Information.
5 concurrent users
**Doesn't work with Netscape 4.7 or older or Macintosh.

Only available to pharmacy students. Login and follow the links using the appropriate username and password.

Index of journals and books in language and literature. Links to some full-text where available.

Contains information for over 7,000 language & literature journals (many of which are indexed in the MLA Bibliography database).

"The leading database of key magazine planning resources." Provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability samples. Create your own account by registering your Drake e-mail address. Subscription allows for 5 simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.

Indexing of more than 640 music periodicals.

Full text of The Nation, a weekly magazine.

Contains: National Journal online, CongressDaily, The Hotline, Technology Daily, & Almanac of American Politics.

The National Review has been a leading journal of opinion since its inception in 1955.

Evidence-based information for complementary/alternative medicine (CAM). Contains information for both health professionals and patients written at a variety of reading levels. Information from around the world is evaluated and each treatment is graded for its effectiveness for a given condition.  Consists of a number of databases and modules including:

  • herbs and supplements
  • medical conditions (click checkboxes to get a diagnosis)
  • comparative effectiveness of various treatments
  • genomics and proteomics
  • environmental resources
  • brand names (includes information on international brand names)
  • interactive tools (including various calculators, a nutritional information database and a CAM dictionary)

Nature is a weekly international science journal that publishes peer-reviewed original research, review articles, reports, and commentaries on the latest happenings in the sciences.
Based upon impact factor, it is the "world's top multidisciplinary science journal, and the world's top journal publishing basic scientific research."

"News@nature.com's mission is to provide the best science journalism on the web. Here you will find breaking news, extended features and analysis, acclaimed columnists, plus blogs and multimedia specials - all brought to you by our award-winning team of journalists, based in cities from San Francisco to Sydney.
In addition to our extensive original content, we also host news stories from Nature, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Medicine, Nature Reviews Drug Discovery, and BioEntrepreneur, along with science careers news from NatureJobs. These articles appear on news@nature.com up to several weeks before they’re published in the print editions of these journals." (from publisher blurb)

The Naxos Jazz Music Library collection features Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Charlie Parker and many more. This is a component of the Naxos Music Library.  This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

(Excerpted from publisher web site): Naxos Music Library contains over 355,000 recordings of classical, jazz, wind band, choral, and world music streamed at "CD quality" to your computer.  This collection contains 28,020 CD's, and over 399,800 tracks of music.  500 CDs are added every month. Contains Comprehensive Liner Notes. Includes Opera Synopses and Libretti, Composer and Artist Biographies and other Essential Information.

The recordings in Naxos Music Library include the complete catalogues of BIS, Chandos, CPO, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with more labels being added from time to time.

This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

The Naxos Spoke Word Library "comprises one of the most comprehensive collections of classic audiobook material available online."  It is a component of the Naxos Music Library.  The Naxos Spoken Word Library contains over 1,170 classic titles.  Over 340 Authors, Playwrights, and Poets are included.  All are read by "literary greats."  This database allows up to 5 simultaneous users.

Brief blurb excerpted from publisher web site:

--The world's greatest literature-many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twentieth century.

--21 categories, from Children's classics, Classic fiction, to Shakespeare's Plays, Music Education, and many more

 

 

Library of electronic books.  Create a free account and view books from anywhere.

Full text of The New England Journal of Medicine
 

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is the country's leading journal of opinion on politics and the arts.

Full-text including scanned digital images of the New York Times.

Full-text coverage of "The New York Times."
Also includes "The New York Times Magazine," and "The New York Times Book Review."

Full-text of 245 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, and 6 newswires. Also includes the Christian Science Monitor & The Los Angeles Times.

WorldCat, ECO, GPO Monthly Catalog, ERIC, Medline, ArticleFirst, NetFirst, PapersFirst, and ProceedingsFirst.

Published by Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes original source documents across U.S. & world history, literature, social sciences, science, math, religion, and more.

SEE African American Studies Center.

Formerly Grove Art Online this database provides access to The Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms plus links to more than 40,000 images.

Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Oxford Classical Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.  The approach is interdisciplinary: all areas, regions, and cultures are represented beyond the core areas of Greece and Rome. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, and ecology. The text is written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated.

2nd edition of the 20-volume set. Includes meaning, history, & pronunciation of over 1/2 million words, both past and present.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online (OISO) offers unrivaled online access to the history and culture of Islam and provides full-text access to great Oxford reference and scholarly works.

Formerly Grove Music Online this database includes the full-text of the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Online access to over 100 dictionaries & reference works in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Oxford Reference Online:  Dictionaries and Reference Works in Business and Economics.

Database provides the most comprehensive collection (over 14,000 pages) of the 34th U.S. president's most significant writings, including letters, memoranda, cables and directives from the years prior to World War II through the full term of Eisenhower's presidency.

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, it is an index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.
The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. (from publisher blurb)

The PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

Insurance forms, cases and other information. Select "P,F & M"
Username: drakeuni
Password: tbac3677

A FirstSearch database from OCLC, this is an index of worldwide conference proceedings. Each record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference.

Full-text for over 516 journals for the professional educator.

Full-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.

Learn how to use Subject Headings in Project Muse by watching the vodast

Full-text from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations.

Publishes 15+ electronic full-text reviews weekly of psychological books.

Contains more than two million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.

RefWorks automates the tasks of citing information & creating bibliographies for research papers. Allows you to create your own citations or import from online databases. For remote access, call the All Serices Desk at 271-2113 and ask to speak with the librarian on duty to obtain the site code.

Need help exporting from a particular database? Check out our information page featuring many of our databases.

RefWorks Basics from Cowles Library on Vimeo.

Refworks Advanced from Cowles Library on Vimeo.

RefShare from Cowles Library on Vimeo.

Full-text of 52 + regional business publications, including the Des Moines Business Record.

RCL is the online edition of the new Resources for College Libraries in conjunction with ACRL's Choice and Bowker. The 2006 edition is the successor to Books for College Libraries (BCL3). The core list features 65,000 titles in 58 curriculum-specific subjects. Titles have been selected by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers.

RISM series A/II: "Music manuscripts after 1600" is one of the most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600. RISM brings together more than 585,559 records by over 20,500 composers.

  • Science: 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles
    (Note: research papers in Science Express become available under this subscription after publication in the print version of the journal.)
  • ScienceNOW
  • All Free Content on the site:
    • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE Table of Contents of current issues and back issues
    • Science, Science Classic, Science Signaling, SAGE KE, abstracts and summaries
    • Science Supporting Online Material
    • Science Technical Comments
    • ScienceCareers.org including Next Wave and GrantsNet
    • ScienceNOW stories published within the past four weeks
    • Searching

Indexing to over 1,800 journals in the biological, chemical, & pharmacological sciences.  Links to full-text for 52+ titles.

Document Delivery is available for most titles.

Full-text access to Scientific American, a monthly magazine.

You must create your own username and password to access SciFinder Scholar

Please see this document (SciFinder User Registration) for information on how to set up your account.

With a single source, you can explore scientific information in journal and patent literature from around the world. SciFinder Scholar contains:

  • More than 15 million single- and multi-step reactions
  • More than 1 billion predicted and experimental properties
  • The CAS REGISTRY database - the original source and final authority for CAS Registry Numbers - updated daily
  • Patent records
  • Sequences combined from CAS and GenBank databases

Check out SciFinder Solutions for more information and current news about SciFinder and related tools

Click here for Training and Support including tutorials, how to guides and more

Scopus indexes over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social science literature (from over 4,000 international publishers). Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 100% coverage of Medline. A unique feature of this databaae is the "Cited By" feature, which offers the ability to determine (and track) the number of times a particular article/author has been cited and by whom.

 

Links to full-text when subscribed to by the Library; otherwise, offers citation information for Interlibrary Loan purposes.

 

How to use SCOPUS

High-quality searchable full-text of the records of the US House and Senate, from 1789 to 1960.

Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts version of Sociological Abstracts.

SPIN is made available by Drake's Office of Sponsored Programs and Grants Management and is the most widely used funding opportunity database in the world. 

Researchers use SPIN as their one-stop-shop for identifying the latest grant programs. By aggregating sponsor information in one system, SPIN cuts search times and substantially increases the likelihood of positive results.  Program information is presented in a standard format that allows investigators to readily compare funding opportunities.

Off campus users may use the following signon:

  • Username -- drakeu
  • Password -- spinslip

TRC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Tests In Print (TIP) is produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska. TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print is directly linked to the critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series. Users can research current test information from the TIP series and continue their search to all available test reviews published in the MMY series. (partially excerpted from publisher blurb)

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Guide to manufacturers searchable by name, product or service.

From publisher web site:

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is Gale's online historical archive, delivering every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time, users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.

Search titles and subject terms from all Times Delphic articles at Drake University from 1980 to present. (Index of earlier issues available in library. Full text available on microfilm.)

The following select names and subjects are searchable prior to 1980 by changing the beginning date in the search box:

NAMES
  • Adams, Donald
  • Allen, Steve
  • Aylesworth, Barton
  • Bell, Hill
  • Bohlman, Herbert
  • Boyd, Mary Frances
  • Bright, John
  • Bryan, William Jennings
  • Carpenter, Mary
  • Carter, Jimmy
  • Conlin, Roxanne
  • Cowles Family
  • Craig, William
  • Davis, Margaret
  • Drake, Francis Marion
  • Duncan, Jim
  • Eisenhower, Dwight
  • Fitch, Frederick
  • Ford, Gerald
  • Gallup, George
  • Glaspell, Susan
  • Goldwater, Barry
  • Griffith, John
  • Harmon, Henry
  • Herriott, Francis
  • Holmes, Arthur
  • Hoover, Herbert
  • Howard, Frederick
  • Humphrey, Hubert
  • Ingham, Harvey
  • John, Maury
  • Johnson, Lyndon
  • Kennedy, John
  • Khrushchev, Nikita
  • King, Martin Luther
  • McCartney, Paul
  • McCarthy, Eugene
  • McCarthy, Joseph
  • McCaw, John
  • Mattern, Karl
  • Mears, Walter
  • Medbury, Charles
  • Miller, Wilbur
  • Milnes, Sherrill
  • Mollenhoff, Clark
  • Morehouse, Daniel
  • Morrison, Paul
  • Nixon, Richard
  • Noble, Nelle
  • Noyes, B. Frank
  • Olmsted, George
  • Page, Kirby
  • Pulliam, Dolph
  • Ray, Robert
  • Reagan, Ronald
  • Redford, Robert
  • Ritchey, Charles
  • Roosevelt, Franklin
  • Roosevelt, Theodore
  • Saarinen, Eero
  • Scott, Oreon
  • Sharp, Paul
  • Solem, Ossie
  • Stalnaker, Luther
  • Staplin, Carl
  • Stevenson, Adlai
  • Stong, Phil
  • Stoppel, William
  • Stringfellow, Erwin
  • Taft, William Howard
  • Truman, Harry
  • Wallace, Henry
  • Wallace, Jack
  • Wannamaker, John
  • Wilson, Woodrow
SUBJECTS
  • Affirmative Action
  • Alcohol Policy
  • Aliber Hall
  • Athletic Facilities
  • Bell (Old Main)
  • Bell Center
  • Bible College
  • Carnegie Library
  • Carpenter Residence Hall
  • Cartwright Hall
  • Chancellor’s Elm
  • Chess
  • Cowles Family
  • Cowles Library
  • Crawford Residence Hall
  • Discrimination, Racial
  • Divinity School
  • Drake Fieldhouse
  • Drake Library
  • Drake Municipal Observatory
  • Drake Relays
  • Drake Songs
  • Drake Stadium
  • Drake University -- History
  • Enrollment
  • Fitch Hall
  • Goodwin-Kirk Residence Hall
  • Harmon Fine Arts Center
  • Herriott Residence Hall
  • Housing, Student
  • Howard Hall
  • Ingham Hall
  • Iowa Hall
  • Jewett Residence Hall
  • Mascots/Bulldogs
  • Medbury Hall
  • Medicine, College of
  • Memorial Hall
  • Meredith Hall
  • Morehouse Residence Hall
  • Old Main
  • Olmsted Center
  • Opperman Library
  • Oskaloosa College
  • Pharmacy, College of
  • Political Activity on Campus
  • Prohibition
  • Raisin Bowl
  • Rhodes Scholars
  • Ross Residence Hall
  • Salad Bowl
  • Salisbury House
  • Selective Service
  • Stalnaker Residence Hall
  • Trailer Court
  • Tuition
  • World War I
  • World War II
 

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Bibliographic information on consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly journals, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'Zines, and many other types of serials publications. Can search by subject and/or keyword to determine "what's out there."

To search the U.S. Serials Set, click on the "Advanced Search" tab, and select "Serial Set" from the list of choices.

Description from publisher web site:

Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, the U.S. Serial Set gives you the thinking behind the events to add context and insight to your research studies.

This collection of government publications captures key aspects of American life from the early 19th century onward - from agriculture, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business and manufacturing. Few, if any, research collections compare to the Serial Set in time span, subject variety, source authority and diversity or relevance to the modern studies of yesterday's activities and attitudes.

This database also includes Serials Set High Resolution Maps (1789-1969). To search this component of the database, go to the "Advanced Search" tab.  Then, select "Serial Set Maps." Note: you will need to de-select the other components to search ONLY the Maps.

Product Overview

The LexisNexis collection begins in 1789 with the American State Papers and details Congressional business through 1969. It includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. Of particular importance to those who study law, the Serial Set contains Congressional legislative reports that provide unrivaled insight into the legislative intent of laws enacted before 1969.

For more information go to the Insider's View of the U.S. Serials Set.

Username: m0ines7

Password: mind5gaps

Our subscription allows for one simultaneous user. Please log-off when finished!

You must use Microsoft Internet Explorer (version 5.x or 6.0) as the Web browser. Pop-up blockers must be disabled

This collection provides full-text coverage for 400 trade & industry related periodicals. Also includes indexing for an additional 250 periodicals.

Full-text of the newspaper's eastern edition.

Access to the full-text of 300+ journals in business, chemistry, education, life sciences, and more. Wiley also contains all the journals previously published by Blackwell.

World Development Indicators "quick query" provides access to nation-by-nation (or aggregate) data on a host of topics, ranging from population growth and education levels, to acres of forest.

WorldCat is a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. If you are unable to find something in the Cowles Library collection using the I-LINK catalog, this is an excellent place to continue your search. Use the Interlibrary Loan link on this page to obtain materials from other collections.